How to create a "placeholder" menu item in 1.5 ?? - SOLVED

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.
Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
NickW-ZA
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 10:53 am

How to create a "placeholder" menu item in 1.5 ?? - SOLVED

Postby NickW-ZA » Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:43 am

Hi all

??? I had a prelim site up and running recently in 1.0, now in switching to 1.5 I can't seem to do the same thing with the nav. Given I was using mod_exmenu before but I thought 1.5 can do nested dropdowns natively.

All I want is a "Placeholder" item on the top level of the menu hierarchy, so one can only click it's sub-items, not the parent itself.

In 1.0 this was done with a "Seperator / Placeholder" but now in 1.5 they're just called "Seperator" and they don't work the same way. ???

Please can someone help with the simple problem. Cheers,

-Nick
Last edited by infograf768 on Tue Aug 21, 2007 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Waseem Sadiq
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 7:41 pm
Location: Glasgow - Scotland
Contact:

Re: How to create a "placeholder" menu item in 1.5 ??

Postby Waseem Sadiq » Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:39 pm

Hi Nick,

Just create your placeholder (separator) as you would any other menu item except don't add a link url. If you need the item to be clicked before the child item is shown then simply use a pound sign (#) for the link - that should give you the functionality you need.

Hope this helps,

Waseem
http://www.bulletprooftemplates.com/ - Joomla Templates and Consultancy

User avatar
NickW-ZA
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 10:53 am

Re: How to create a "placeholder" menu item in 1.5 ??

Postby NickW-ZA » Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:55 pm

Hi Waseem

Thanks for your reply. Although I have various menu items which I've set as child items for the parent, and although I can see the parent, I can't see any dropdowns appearing. That may be as a result of the three templates I'm using not supporting this...? But I thought mod_mainmenu in 1.5 does dropdowns... I know it depends on the template to view it properly but I literally get NO action when I hover over the parent menu item.

Furthermore, when I try to select 'Separator' as the menu item type, it will not allow me to click the 'Link' field at all in the menu item edit screen.

:'(

Any help at all would be appreciated.

PS. I am actually trying your very own Blank Template along with Solarflare and Beez to try and see if anything responds. Am I correct in thinking that until I find/create a template which is specifically suited to show the nested list items, I will not see anything? i.e. is this a template issue?

-Nick
Last edited by NickW-ZA on Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Waseem Sadiq
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 7:41 pm
Location: Glasgow - Scotland
Contact:

Re: How to create a "placeholder" menu item in 1.5 ??

Postby Waseem Sadiq » Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:24 pm

Hi Nick,

I just checked and it looks like you're right that you can't add anything into the link field in a separator item.

You can however add child items and have them appear on hover - I just tried it

This may be a silly question but have you checked that you're using the correct module parameters?

  • "Always show sub-menu Items" should be set to "Yes"
  • "Menu Style" should be set to "List"

You're also right in thinking that the template you use needs to have the necessary CSS code to display dropdown menus.

Hope this helps,

Waseem
http://www.bulletprooftemplates.com/ - Joomla Templates and Consultancy

User avatar
NickW-ZA
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 10:53 am

Re: How to create a "placeholder" menu item in 1.5 ??

Postby NickW-ZA » Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:37 pm

Hi Waseem

I've managed to get it working too, I moved one of the child items to a different parent which is an article rather than a seperator, and it works. Okay, so I'm a lot less confused now.

But I still don't know how to do the placeholder thing like I did with 1.0 ... Obviously, I don't just want a self-directed link in the nav placeholder, I want no link at all. Otherwise it'll just look bad.

Oh yes and all my menu modules are set on 'list'... the default, apparently.

-Nick

User avatar
NickW-ZA
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 10:53 am

Re: How to create a "placeholder" menu item in 1.5 ?? - SOLVED

Postby NickW-ZA » Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:52 pm

Problem solved,

One needs to set it to 'External Link' and remove the link in  the link field (or fill in with # as Waseem suggested).

Cheers for your help Waseem! Got my brain grinding along, at least.  :D

User avatar
Waseem Sadiq
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 7:41 pm
Location: Glasgow - Scotland
Contact:

Re: How to create a "placeholder" menu item in 1.5 ?? - SOLVED

Postby Waseem Sadiq » Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:54 pm

lol  ;D

Ur welcome Nick - glad we got there in the end...


Waseem
http://www.bulletprooftemplates.com/ - Joomla Templates and Consultancy


Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests