Wordpress to Joomla

General questions relating to Joomla! There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
wizardgold
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Wordpress to Joomla

Post by wizardgold » Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:03 pm

I have a Wordpress blog that I want to convert to Joomla. Do you have any recommendations.

I have been running the blog for some time and I would like to keep the most of it - will I have to to a manual copy and paste of the content to get everything moved over?

pcjunkie
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: Wordpress to Joomla

Post by pcjunkie » Mon Sep 17, 2007 2:38 pm

Sorry for the late reply...

If there is no conversion script which I doubt...

Find in the Wordpress DB the text entries only...

Copy them to note pad.

To save on entering code Find the Jos text entries table in joomla for articles. If none exist then make a template default using Joomla.

Make a backup of that entry in PHP MY ADMIN  then use the SQL function then the -
INSERT instruction to load the SQL table into the Jos Articles text table. AFAIK that should also automatically number the files. You should also address the Front page view settings...

If not visible then find the table responsible for numerically populating the system. I think articles has 2 tables or is relational to Content. One is the commander and has a number and name and the other jos articles text? contains the good stuff.

Don't do this on a live server, it may not work the first time, but I hope you know where I am going with this....In any case thats how I got a forum over from e107 to Joomla board.