Contact email always invalid

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! site? Pop your questions in here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
alandd
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Contact email always invalid

Post by alandd » Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:58 am

I'm running a site recently updated to 1.0.11 through several hops from Mambo 4.x.  All has been going well.

Then, today, a user reported that they got some kind of error when trying to use the Contact Us form.  So tonight I tried it.  It is, in fact, now broken.

I can pick any contact and fill out the form to send an email.  When Send is clicked a box pops up stating "Please make sure the form is complete and valid."

Following this string into the code I come to this snippet in in /componets/com_contact/contact.html.php (* @version $Id: contact.html.php 4157 2006-07-02 17:58:51Z stingrey $):

Code: Select all

<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
		<!--
		function validate(){
			if ( ( document.emailForm.text.value == "" ) || ( document.emailForm.email.value.search("@") == -1 ) || ( document.emailForm.email.value.search("[.*]" ) == -1 ) ) {
				alert( "<?php echo _CONTACT_FORM_NC; ?>" );
			} else if ( ( document.emailForm.email.value.search(";") != -1 ) || ( document.emailForm.email.value.search(",") != -1 ) || ( document.emailForm.email.value.search(" ") != -1 ) ) {
				alert( "<?php echo _CONTACT_ONE_EMAIL; ?>" );			
			} else {
				document.emailForm.action = "<?php echo sefRelToAbs("index.php?option=com_contact&Itemid=$Itemid"); ?>"
				document.emailForm.submit();
			}
		}
		//-->
		</script>
The "Please make sure.." string is _CONTACT_FORM_NC in the snippet above.  The code appearently is validating the input on the form and the validation is failing.