The Joomla! Forum ™






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 161 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 2:54 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:58 am
Posts: 10079
Location: Hillerød - Denmark
infograf768 wrote:
Please update the link on JED.  ;)

(For the reader: see http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla_1_5_tr1/frs/)

Gave a helping hand and speeded up the updating. JED listing now have correct URLs  ;)

_________________
Ole Bang Ottosen
redCOMPONENT Community Manager http://redcomponent.com
Personligt site www.ot2sen.dk
Dansk Joomla! support websted - joomla.dk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 3:46 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:36 am
Posts: 66
Location: Wales
ot2sen wrote:
Gave a helping hand and speeded up the updating. JED listing now have correct URLs  ;)


That was quick - many thanks.

_________________
Joomla! 1.5 Translations Manager -
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla_1_5_tr1/
Welsh Translations -
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/cymraeg/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:39 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:35 am
Posts: 1
Location: Lodz [PL]
Hello.

Is it possible, to use this Language Manager to translate 3-rd part components and/or modules such as VirtueMart?
What should be done?
How tokens(?) are managed?

Regards.
T.

_________________
http://www.virtuemart.pl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:45 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 372
Location: Internet
Yes and no.
Yes, if language file handling sticks to new Joomla! 1.5 localization file handling. No because, at this moment, VM doesn't.


Tak i nie.
Tak jeśli system plików językowych jest zgodny z nową architekturą lokalizacji w Joomla! 1.5. Nie bo w VM na razie nie jest.

_________________
Proud Polish Joomla! Team Member > http://www.joomla.pl
Hardcore Translator ;)
Joomla! Translation Coordination Team
Jobs in IT: http://www.workita.com


Last edited by Roman Blanty on Thu Jul 05, 2007 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:40 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:32 am
Posts: 192
Location: http://tamviet.vn
I'm Vietnamese and I think that Joomla is so good with webmaster in VietNam. Vietnamese is required

_________________
http://tamviet.vn/tivi-lcd.html - Tivi LCD
http://tamviet.vn/may-photocopy.html - Máy Photocopy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:05 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Posts: 17192
Location: **Translation Matters**
KnightHV wrote:
I'm Vietnamese and I think that Joomla is so good with webmaster in VietNam. Vietnamese is required

Please contact our Vietnamese Translation Team
vhv_alex  http://forum.joomla.org/index.php?actio ... le;u=30421

_________________
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
Joomla Translation Coordination Team • Joomla! Production Working Group


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:47 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 5:34 pm
Posts: 418
Hi,

I've been watching this for a while and finally managed to download and install. This is such a great component! Kudos, Ifans!

Already done a bunch of translation files in basically no time, incl. a German translation of Translation Manager itself.
Feel free to add this to your distribution or do with it whatever you want. Its just the .ini files, and only a tiny, tiny contribution to your awesome work.
I have not yet managed to walk through all the many features :D

There's one "phrase" I coudn't find in your (en-GB) language file: "new key", the label used when adding a, well ... new key and phrase.

One dumb question though: where's the status of a file marked as complete stored? Is it just a session thing, or more permanent?

Thanks!

CirTap

_________________
You can have programs written fast, well, and cheap, but you only get to pick 2 ...

"I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by." Douglas Adams


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:55 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:36 am
Posts: 66
Location: Wales
Hi CirTap,

Thanks for the contribution and comments.  Have fixed the "New Key" and will update forge including your de-DE files soon.

The "complete" status works like this: when the checkbox is checked, the header of the INI file will include a tilde followed by the number of phrases which are the same in the source and translation files (e.g. ~2) in the translation INI file.  Each time the component parses the translation files, it checks this number for a match. If there have been changes in the source file (e.g. new or changed phrases) this match will usually be broken, so the status will no longer show as complete.

Regards

Ifan

_________________
Joomla! 1.5 Translations Manager -
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla_1_5_tr1/
Welsh Translations -
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/cymraeg/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:40 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 856
Location: Israel
Hi igevans,
just wanted to let you know it is a great component helping me a lot.

I wanted to ask if there's a plan for a Front-End part for this component, so I could share the translation process with other users without having to let them Administration access?



beside that, I think there is an alignment problem, but more on that when I have more time...

_________________
"In a world without walls and fences,
who needs Windows & Gates?"

http://www.smartmtk.com | http://www.lighthost.co.il/webhosting-for-joomla


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 12:57 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 856
Location: Israel
Same question goes for Access Level, at this point only Super-Admin can view the component, is the a config you can add to set a lower level (i.e Administrator)

_________________
"In a world without walls and fences,
who needs Windows & Gates?"

http://www.smartmtk.com | http://www.lighthost.co.il/webhosting-for-joomla


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 1:58 pm 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 372
Location: Internet
I will need to combine a few versions of translation, any idea if the component will evolve in this direction any time soon? If not I will have to do some changes to the code to be able to do this.

I have, not very elegant, but efficient, idea on how to do this. There could be more directories starting wit locale with some suffix (eg. author nick) and then when opening an ini file component could go check on differences and display variants with a radiobutton to choose one which is going to endup in the main translation folder). It is heavy on resource, but then again I need it only for localhost.

If you are planing to provide solution to this and if I'll get it done my way, would you like to get the modification?
Would you have any questions / advices please feel free to contact me.

_________________
Proud Polish Joomla! Team Member > http://www.joomla.pl
Hardcore Translator ;)
Joomla! Translation Coordination Team
Jobs in IT: http://www.workita.com


Last edited by Roman Blanty on Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 8:06 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Århus
Is it the manager component that's has a problem with this line WHO\'S ONLINE=Who's Online or ? I've got the line in the translationpart and it also stands for deletion !?! Maybe there is a problem with the \ sign ?

_________________
rbuelund
Member of the Danish Joomla Translation Team
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/danish/
http://danskjoomla.dk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:41 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:36 am
Posts: 66
Location: Wales
OK, as Roman says, this could get complicated.

Personally, I want to avoid a database interface (for storing user rights etc) so am thinking about ways to get the required functionality.  A few questions:

USER/GROUP PERMISSIONS
---------------
This should be fairly straightforward, but not something I've done so far - any pointers greatly appreciated.

FRONTEND
---------------
I'm assuming I can "skin" the existing component from the forntend, without having to re-write everything. Will have a look over the enxt few days.

VERSIONING
----------------
This is the real challenge.  I agree that many files is probably the best way to do it, probably using the userID in the filename.  Questions:
* who decides which changes to accept?
* store unapplied changes or delete them?
* creation and deletion of phrases?
* using this method, there will be no way to display the unapplied changes in Joomla - any ideas on this?

TIMESCALE
-----------------
I have a new job, and so I haven't had much time on this hobby/project recently.  I would say probably 3-4 weeks to look at and implement the above.

_________________
Joomla! 1.5 Translations Manager -
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla_1_5_tr1/
Welsh Translations -
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/cymraeg/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:15 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 19645
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
[MOD note: offtopic messages regarding Language translation pack for Hindi and Gujrati split, and moved to: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,196835.0.html ]

_________________
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator - Community Leadership Team
http://www.db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Joomla 2.5 multilanguage in 10 steps: http://www.db8.nl/en/joomla-presentatio ... ge-website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:54 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 856
Location: Israel
Hi,
I'm getting an error only when showin translation files for the administrator:
Code:
Notice: Undefined offset: 4 in ...\administrator\components\com_translationsmanager\helper.php on line 55


I'm using: v1.5#7381

_________________
"In a world without walls and fences,
who needs Windows & Gates?"

http://www.smartmtk.com | http://www.lighthost.co.il/webhosting-for-joomla


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 9:01 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 856
Location: Israel
Is there a way to add an option to auto create the needed install.xml?

_________________
"In a world without walls and fences,
who needs Windows & Gates?"

http://www.smartmtk.com | http://www.lighthost.co.il/webhosting-for-joomla


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 3:39 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:23 pm
Posts: 4522
Location: Finland / Norway
mtk wrote:
Is there a way to add an option to auto create the needed install.xml?


Is already there, just hit the 'Package' button in top menu of the component - and then download the package from the tmp folder (in the rot of your installation).

_________________
Rune Rasmussen - http://www.syntaxerror.no
Norske nettløsninger og integrasjoner, CONSIGNOR EDI, Mamut ordreimport og produkteksport, kortbetaling og faktura m.m.

Norsk Joomla! - Norwegian Translation Team - http://www.norskjoomla.no


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 3:42 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 856
Location: Israel
thanks, I never used that option, so I didn't know it really does that...

_________________
"In a world without walls and fences,
who needs Windows & Gates?"

http://www.smartmtk.com | http://www.lighthost.co.il/webhosting-for-joomla


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 3:50 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:52 am
Posts: 5
Hi

I'm discovering the TM and I'm absolutely amazed of this com_.

On little issue came to me while working on the french transl. : In the contact file, the word fax and information are exactly the same in french. Impossible to have the Unchanged Phrase mark removed !! How can I changed that so I can have a completed file status ??? Am I clear ???

Thanks

Maximil


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:38 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:23 pm
Posts: 4522
Location: Finland / Norway
If I remember correct now the option for this is shown to you when you open a file for translation, theres a check box for 'Mark this translation as completed' (or similar).  ;)

_________________
Rune Rasmussen - http://www.syntaxerror.no
Norske nettløsninger og integrasjoner, CONSIGNOR EDI, Mamut ordreimport og produkteksport, kortbetaling og faktura m.m.

Norsk Joomla! - Norwegian Translation Team - http://www.norskjoomla.no


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:11 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:52 am
Posts: 5
You're right but the counted strings still shows 32/34.

It's not a big issue and I won't fight for this, but i just wanted to inform about this ...

Maximil


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 3:05 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:23 pm
Posts: 4522
Location: Finland / Norway
That's a different thing - it's marked as ready anyway, right ...  ???

_________________
Rune Rasmussen - http://www.syntaxerror.no
Norske nettløsninger og integrasjoner, CONSIGNOR EDI, Mamut ordreimport og produkteksport, kortbetaling og faktura m.m.

Norsk Joomla! - Norwegian Translation Team - http://www.norskjoomla.no


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:24 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 3:08 am
Posts: 602
Location: Turkey
Thanks for the component. This one must be added into package as a core component. What about this?

_________________
Every soul will taste of death.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:45 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:11 pm
Posts: 315
kelb wrote:
Thanks for the component. This one must be added into package as a core component. What about this?


I dont agree, only a very small amount of the users who download joomla will want or be able to translate their site. We dont want to add un-neded bloat to Joomla. A great component, but something which should be made clear its available, maybe from a link in the admin so those who want to translate can download and translate to their hearts content. Maybe also worth adding a link in the joomfish admin panel too.

Also the component should have an export feature, which allows people to export their translation to a central repository so other people can download and use the language file.

Just my 2c though :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:13 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:23 pm
Posts: 4522
Location: Finland / Norway
There's one more thing missing in this great component, and that's a search feature.

This should allow us to search for  text strings, and optionally also definitions. There could be a global search telling us in witch files the string is located, and a search inside files taking us to the right location to edit it.

Since I'm not a coder I don't know how much work this would require to make, but as a translator I know it's needed. Especially for those who just want to edit a front-end string to fit their site better.

_________________
Rune Rasmussen - http://www.syntaxerror.no
Norske nettløsninger og integrasjoner, CONSIGNOR EDI, Mamut ordreimport og produkteksport, kortbetaling og faktura m.m.

Norsk Joomla! - Norwegian Translation Team - http://www.norskjoomla.no


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:24 am 
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 372
Location: Internet
hotnuts21 wrote:
kelb wrote:
Thanks for the component. This one must be added into package as a core component. What about this?


I dont agree, only a very small amount of the users who download joomla will want or be able to translate their site. We dont want to add un-neded bloat to Joomla. A great component, but something which should be made clear its available, maybe from a link in the admin so those who want to translate can download and translate to their hearts content. Maybe also worth adding a link in the joomfish admin panel too.

I don't agree with Hotnuts. First of all component can be used to customize original translation. You'd be surprised how many English strings can be put in different wording, more suitable for particular website.
Other thing is that English is not the most spoken first language despite of what many people tend to think, and Joomla! has a growing non-English user base. In my opinion it is one of the most important reasons for Joomla!'s success.
Polish version of Joomla! 1.0.13 (full package) was downloaded almost 300k times. Downloads from joomlacode (full package) are blow 600k. Polish native speakers are 43-52M community.
hotnuts21 wrote:
Also the component should have an export feature, which allows people to export their translation to a central repository so other people can download and use the language file.

There is an export facility and Translation WorkingGroup uses it constantly. Though it's not so direct as you suggested (generates language sets but has to be uploaded manually). There's no much need for automating it and security reasons are involved.

_________________
Proud Polish Joomla! Team Member > http://www.joomla.pl
Hardcore Translator ;)
Joomla! Translation Coordination Team
Jobs in IT: http://www.workita.com


Last edited by Roman Blanty on Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 5:34 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 3:08 am
Posts: 602
Location: Turkey
Roman, thanks for your explanation. I agree with you. Can somebody contact devs about this issue?

_________________
Every soul will taste of death.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:11 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Posts: 17192
Location: **Translation Matters**
As far as I know, this component —as well as Joomfish for example— will not be included in trunk.
Even if the component had been written originally by a core dev, the policy was to not include these in trunk.
Same reason to not include all pdf fonts. A matter of weight of the official package.
I doubt this policy has changed.

_________________
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
Joomla Translation Coordination Team • Joomla! Production Working Group


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:29 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:53 am
Posts: 57
pls c the PP


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
http://www.liangjunchao.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:35 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:53 am
Posts: 57
en-GB.xml  CODE

####################################



  English(United Kingdom)
en-GB
1.5.0
Date>2005-10-30Date>
Joomla! Project
Email>admin@joomla.orgEmail>
Url>http://www.joomla.orgUrl>
.....

en-GB.xml  CODE

####################################


English(United Kingdom)
zh-CN
        简体中文(Simplified_Chinese)
1.5.0RC3.1
date>2007-12-12date>
Genous
email>admin@joomla.orgemail>
url>http://www.joomla.orgurl>
.....

_________________
http://www.liangjunchao.org


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 161 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group