Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

A place to discuss Joomla! translation matters.

Moderator: infograf768

fsabbah
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:41 am

Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby fsabbah » Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:08 am

I have a 1.0.12 site in Spanish - some of the special characters in the front end and back end appear as ´?`

I have tried the fixes I found on the board ie
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg881203 and MySQL character set

I can't find anything that is utf-8
Everything looks like it is set to iso-8859-1

Please check it out
http://www.timeqm.com

Thanks
Last edited by fsabbah on Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ot2sen
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10307
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Hillerød - Denmark
Contact:

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby ot2sen » Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:24 am

Hi fsabbah,

Could it be that you installed the UTF8 package instead of the ISO package?
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/spanis ... age_id=115
Ole Bang Ottosen
Dansk kommerciel support og kurser www.ot2sen.dk
Dansk frivillig Joomla! support websted - joomla.dk
OpenTranslators Core Team opentranslators.org

fsabbah
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:41 am

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby fsabbah » Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:14 pm

Thanks for your quick response

I had originally installed
Joomla_1.0.12-spanish-premium
which had the iso spanish package

Just in case, I uploaded the Spanish lang pack files you linked me to into the Spanish folder - but I still get "?" for special characters

fsabbah
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:41 am

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby fsabbah » Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:24 pm

I started another site with the
Joomla_1.0.12-Stable-Full_Package.zip

I installed the Spanish language package
When I look at my choices in my language manager I see
Spanish - Espa�ol Formal Neutro Usted
Even here the special characters aren't loading

Could this be an Apache issue and not a Joomla issue?

User avatar
ot2sen
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10307
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Hillerød - Denmark
Contact:

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby ot2sen » Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:32 pm

In the thread linked below more users had similar problems. One of them noticed a .htaccess file enforcing the use of UTF-8 encoding.
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,181374.0.html
Ole Bang Ottosen
Dansk kommerciel support og kurser www.ot2sen.dk
Dansk frivillig Joomla! support websted - joomla.dk
OpenTranslators Core Team opentranslators.org

fsabbah
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:41 am

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby fsabbah » Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:23 pm

I removed the httaccess file and still no fix.

I also checked my mysql database in phpmyadmin and all tables are listed as latin1_swedish_ci

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18068
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby infograf768 » Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:42 am

There is a mismatch somewhere between utf8 and iso-8559-1.

It only concerns some language pack strings and the Titles of Articles and Modules.

Try this:
Please do the following:

Open globals.php and right after the last (it's at the end of the file)

Code: Select all

}

and before the closing

Code: Select all

?>

put the following code:

Code: Select all

header("Content-Type: text/html; charset=ENTER HERE THE CHARSET AS DEFINED IN YOUR LANGUAGE PACK");

Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

fsabbah
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:41 am

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby fsabbah » Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:19 am

That worked like a charm. I am back in business.
Thanks Ot2sen, thanks infograf768
You guys rock!

PRJMDL
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:55 pm

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby PRJMDL » Mon Jul 02, 2007 6:57 am

I have some special character problems.  Im using the official spanish UTF-8 translation.  The items on the Joomla Configuration Page now show Si as Sí  instead of the ?, which is correct.  On the language selection on Joomla I see the ? which is incorrect.  Why does it work on some places and in other dont?  I set UTF-8 as charset enconding in Firefox/Opera/IE, but is useless.

The Zoom Image gallery component I installed still shows the ? on the words on the front end and back end.  What can I do? I just added the line you suggested but did not worked on the component.  I have Virtuemart component and works perfectly with the special characters.  What can be wrong?  Should I re-install the Zoom component?  I even tried removing the .htaccess file but still no luck.  I updated the language files for Zoom but still doesn´t work.

Thanks for your help.
el mandalorian

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18068
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby infograf768 » Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:59 am

PRJMDL wrote:I have some special character problems.  Im using the official spanish UTF-8 translation.  The items on the Joomla Configuration Page now show Si as Sí  instead of the ?, which is correct.  On the language selection on Joomla I see the ? which is incorrect.  Why does it work on some places and in other dont?  I set UTF-8 as charset enconding in Firefox/Opera/IE, but is useless.


When using a utf-8 site, it is better to reencode (and change charset) the English.php file to utf-8 which is used in admin.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

PRJMDL
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:55 pm

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby PRJMDL » Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:51 pm

Do you know if there is any english file around that has been re-encoded?  I have done some re-encoding but I'm in a hurry and it takes a lot of time.

For now, I just had to change the english file of ZOOM and re-code the special characters so I can view with ortographic errors, but for now its ok.

Thanks for the quick answer.

I have changed the spanish language file to an ISO-charset but still not useful.  I think I have to re-encode it by hand.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18068
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby infograf768 » Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:00 pm

If your template contains the following strings (you may test with solarflare ii)
defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );
// needed to seperate the ISO number from the language file constant _ISO
$iso = explode( '=', _ISO );

[...]


and



Then it will pick-up the utf-8 value of the english.php utf8 file here attached (takes 5 seconds to reencode  ;) )
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

marathon
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:16 am

Re: Also have ? for special characters - tried fixes

Postby marathon » Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:54 am

Hi everyone,

I run into a problem while designing my new website. The language I originaly use is Slovenian that requires support of UTF-8 because of such letter as:

đšžćč

Everything seemed to work ..but then I get this?

--------------------------------

Front page everything looks ok as you can see in the picture. ?

Image


--------------------------------

But when you click to read the whole article ...text changes to this!

Image


Anyone has any idea what's going on here? Really is driving me crazy :P



PS. I did include this line in globals.php

header("Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8");


Return to “Translations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests