I don't want my menu translated - how do I do that?

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
Evangeline93
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:34 am

I don't want my menu translated - how do I do that?

Postby Evangeline93 » Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:49 pm

I am using Joomla 2.5 and am using the GTranslate extension to give my site more versatility to visitors. I have my main menu buttons fitted with graphic, just the way I want them, but the buttons give unsightly results when the translator makes the menu buttons longer than the fitted CSS image.

Is there a way to make the main menu immune to the translator? I would much rather have the rest of the site translated and leave the buttons alone, for aesthetic purposes.

If anybody has a solution, I would be very grateful! I am hoping I don't have to just add the button name to the graphic, as I want the button name to show up even if the CSS image doesn't load.

Thank you very much! Here is a link to the site I am building, so you can see me buttons and the translator (at the bottom): http://nlc.despaindesigns.com

Have a nice day!
Jennifer :geek:
Last edited by imanickam on Tue Aug 26, 2014 2:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved topic » from Translations to Extensions for Joomla! 2.5
~~~~ 'A 'a i ka hula; waiho i ka hilahila i ka hale ~~~~
Dare to dance; leave embarrassment at home

User avatar
brian
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 11305
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: I don't want my menu translated - how do I do that?

Postby brian » Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:05 pm

There is a brand new html5 tag called translate. The only people using it right now are google and bing translate

So If I write a sentence like this and put <span translate=no>leave me alone</span> then anything inside the span will be ignored by the translators

So I guess you could look at somehow wrapping the content of the menu items inside that tag
"Exploited yesterday... Hacked tomorrow"
Blog http://brian.teeman.net/
Joomla Hidden Secrets http://hiddenjoomlasecrets.com/

User avatar
Evangeline93
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:34 am

Re: I don't want my menu translated - how do I do that?

Postby Evangeline93 » Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:51 pm

I just tried using that idea. My page is built using XHTML, though. Could that be an issue with using HTML5 tags? Hmmm.....

This is what I have around the menu:

<span translate="no">
<?php if ($this->countModules('menu')) : ?>

<div id="navr"><div id="navl"><div id="nav">

<jdoc:include type="modules" name="menu" style="none" />

</div></div></div>

</span>

Thank you for your help. Is there something I am missing, perhaps?

I had heard that HTML5 was not being widely used quite yet. Perhaps FireFox isn't recognizing it?

Jennifer :geek:
~~~~ 'A 'a i ka hula; waiho i ka hilahila i ka hale ~~~~
Dare to dance; leave embarrassment at home

User avatar
brian
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 11305
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: I don't want my menu translated - how do I do that?

Postby brian » Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:53 pm

As I said the browser itself wont do anything with the tag but the translation tools (which is what gtranslate uses) do

I think you will need to find a way to put the span around the individual items not the entire block
"Exploited yesterday... Hacked tomorrow"
Blog http://brian.teeman.net/
Joomla Hidden Secrets http://hiddenjoomlasecrets.com/

User avatar
Evangeline93
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:34 am

Re: I don't want my menu translated - how do I do that?

Postby Evangeline93 » Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:28 pm

Thank you! I will try that!

Jennifer :geek:
~~~~ 'A 'a i ka hula; waiho i ka hilahila i ka hale ~~~~
Dare to dance; leave embarrassment at home

irantamir
I've been banned!
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:54 pm

Re: I don't want my menu translated - how do I do that?

Postby irantamir » Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:01 am

hi pensiunearad
is it work in IE7??

termino
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 12:20 pm

Re: I don't want my menu translated - how do I do that?

Postby termino » Sun Jul 27, 2014 7:43 pm

irantamir wrote:hi pensiunearad
is it work in IE7??
I have tested this version and it worked

dadset
I've been banned!
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:02 pm

Re: I don't want my menu translated - how do I do that?

Postby dadset » Wed Aug 06, 2014 10:10 am

it didnt work with IE 6 only
and with IE 7,8,9 work corectly

waarnemer
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:37 pm

Re: I don't want my menu translated - how do I do that?

Postby waarnemer » Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:34 pm

@Brian, thanks..

That was valuable info you provided.. the page a W3Schools says no browser supports it, but it actually is the GTranslator doing it... w3schools should change all no's into yes's...

Thanks again..


Return to “Extensions for Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests