The Joomla! Forum ™






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:12 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:56 pm
Posts: 89
Description:
[USER] Give a description of the bug in your own words
I have this error message in "help, System info", configuration file:
(about 15-20 similar lines)
(admin backend)
Configuration File
Code:
Warning: eregi() [function.eregi]: Unmatched \{ in /home.10.21/nom de mon site/www/administrator/components/com_admin/tmpl/sysinfo_config.php on line 57


Reported on:
[USER]1.5.3

Classification:
[Q&T] Critical/High/Medium/Low/Enhancement

Affected functions:
[USER]I dont know what was the consequences... error messages in "help, System info", configuration file[/b]:

Related files:
[USER]/www/administrator/components/com_admin/tmpl/sysinfo_config.php on line 57

Steps to replicate:
[USER] automatic...
oops too late for URL but other users had this issue, as per forums and google!

Analysis:
[Q&T] Confirmed/Unable to confirm/Rejected
Any other comments

Proposed fix(es):
[USER] :

I had this:
joomla 1.5, line 57 du /administrator/components/com_admin/tmpl/sysinfo_config.php
Code:
Code: Select all
    } else if (eregi( 'class JConfig {', $v)) {



I had to delete the "{" after the word JConfig :
Code:
Code: Select all
    } else if (eregi( 'class JConfig ', $v)) {




Now I dont have the error anymore!

Topic / Artifact ID:
[USER] Enter the crosss reference for topic or artifact id/url when submitted
my topic:
viewtopic.php?f=429&t=288324&p=1283877#p1283877

System info:
[USER]
PHP Built on: Linux web466.90.ha.ovh.net 2.6.24.2-xxxx-std-ipv4-32 #4 SMP Mon Feb 11 14:51:26 CET 2008 i686
Database Version: 5.0.44-log
Database Collation: utf8_general_ci
PHP Version: 4.4.8
Web Server: Apache
Web Server to PHP interface: cgi
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5.3 Production/Stable [ Vahi ] 22-April-2008 22:00 GMT
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/20080404 Firefox/2.0.0.14


** Notes: *****************************************************
Classificaction:
High = Something is really broken, it should be taken care of in a next release.
Medium = This is not a full breakage but it doesn't work like it is supposed to or not all the time.
Low = This is just an annoyance, something is not quite right, but basic functionality is still present.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 8:44 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:56 pm
Posts: 89
Hi!
Anyone on this?
For information I checked where I got this file:
(downloaded from joomla official website)
it is in "Joomla_1.5.3-Stable-Full_Package" and the exact file:
Joomla_1.5.3-Stable-Full_Package\administrator\components\com_admin\tmpl\sysinfo_config.php

contains this " { " by default!!!

It seems a bug but then!? Maybe its normal and its another issue, I don't know!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 10:38 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 2:13 pm
Posts: 7962
Location: The Netherlands
Mod Note:
Topic moved from Joomla! 1.5 Development to Joomla! Q&T forum

_________________
Robert Dam - Joomla Forum Moderator
Dutch Boards | Joomla Coding Boards | English Support Boards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 2:02 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
corsebou wrote:
Hi!
Anyone on this?
For information I checked where I got this file:
(downloaded from joomla official website)
it is in "Joomla_1.5.3-Stable-Full_Package" and the exact file:
Joomla_1.5.3-Stable-Full_Package\administrator\components\com_admin\tmpl\sysinfo_config.php

contains this " { " by default!!!

It seems a bug but then!? Maybe its normal and its another issue, I don't know!

I replied 2 days ago on your other thread...

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 6:38 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:56 pm
Posts: 89
ircmaxell wrote:
corsebou wrote:
Hi!
Anyone on this?
For information I checked where I got this file:
(downloaded from joomla official website)
it is in "Joomla_1.5.3-Stable-Full_Package" and the exact file:
Joomla_1.5.3-Stable-Full_Package\administrator\components\com_admin\tmpl\sysinfo_config.php

contains this " { " by default!!!

It seems a bug but then!? Maybe its normal and its another issue, I don't know!

I replied 2 days ago on your other thread...


Hi! yes I saw...
I tried to "close" the other one by showing "resolve" and now its like this bug report!

But here my last message:
viewtopic.php?f=429&t=288324

To make it simple, I know I tried the old config file and it would not work, but the error message appears with the original 1.5.3 full package, and seems a bug.

It might just be a "{" written by mistake but then it might have some hidden consequences I do not know!

Hope that helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 6:43 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
corsebou wrote:
Hi! yes I saw...
It might just be a "{" written by mistake but then it might have some hidden consequences I do not know!

Hope that helps!
Ummm... The { is suposed to be there...

I still would like to view a phpinfo output, because this is a really weird error... But, with that said, I STRONGLY believe it's NOT a bug with Joomla 1.5...

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 8:25 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:56 pm
Posts: 89
ircmaxell wrote:
corsebou wrote:
Hi! yes I saw...
It might just be a "{" written by mistake but then it might have some hidden consequences I do not know!

Hope that helps!
Ummm... The { is suposed to be there...

I still would like to view a phpinfo output, because this is a really weird error... But, with that said, I STRONGLY believe it's NOT a bug with Joomla 1.5...

Hi,
Ok, but I confirm the message is not here anymore after removing that "{"...
I do not know the consequences from it though!
I will not post the phpinfo output as its very long and might be unsafe?

I will need to know if its not a bug as I posted on this and the french joomla official forum, that it can be corrected by removing that "{" :-[ I do not want to corrupt everyones joomla...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 11:36 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 10:14 am
Posts: 1
Hi
I have had this same error and removing { has worked for me.

I have no idea what other effects it may have had.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 2:12 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:27 am
Posts: 1318
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
What happens if you put in \{ instead of removing the {

_________________
Sam Moffatt
Updater, Installer and Authentication Systems
JoomlaCode Backend Systems
Pie.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 7:56 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:56 pm
Posts: 89
pasamio wrote:
What happens if you put in \{ instead of removing the {

Hi!
It took me ages but I have made all the tests for you, alon with uploading the edited config files, refreshing, etc...
I have made the printscreen for you:

1) One test with the "{ "back again:
i have made 2 print screen as it did not fit, they are called bug1 and bug2: we can see a lot of error messages. This was my original problem!

Image
Image

2) I have commented like you suggested and put: "\{" (without double quote): it makes like a weird grey box (in bug3.jpg)

Image
3) I have removed the "\{" and put nothing like I did before: everything SEEMS normal, but then I don't know: its in bug4.jpg

Image
:)

I still tend to think it is a bug, but I might not know!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 5:05 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:27 am
Posts: 1318
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
I think this might be a php bug more than anything else, I'll test with a few different versions later in the week to see how I go.

_________________
Sam Moffatt
Updater, Installer and Authentication Systems
JoomlaCode Backend Systems
Pie.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 7:42 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:56 pm
Posts: 89
pasamio wrote:
I think this might be a php bug more than anything else, I'll test with a few different versions later in the week to see how I go.

Good evening!

Cool, no ideas but if we can spot a bug thats good work!
By the way, I have made a test for you:
I used PHP Version 5.2.5 rather than the php Version 4.4.8 Before:
I confirm that in joomla I could see PHP Version 5.2.5, but yet, still there is the same error if I add this "{" ...
If I remove it, still no error messages!

So if its php version error, its not linked to 4.4. or 5.2.5
! :pop


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 5:44 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:56 pm
Posts: 89
I update this bug report.
A friend of mine also tried joomla 1.5.3 and he got exactly the same error!
We have the same hosting, that might be a big clue!!!
he downloaded as well the files from the official Joomla website.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 7:13 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:27 am
Posts: 1318
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
I have a box where I've built PHP 5.2.5 from the source directly from php.net and didn't encounter any problems. What it might be is that there is something strange that your hosting company has done, however with stock PHP from PHP itself I cannot replicate this issue.

_________________
Sam Moffatt
Updater, Installer and Authentication Systems
JoomlaCode Backend Systems
Pie.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 11:43 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
Note: As this does not happen in any way we've tried to duplicate it, it must be due to circumstances at the host. Unable to confirm.

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group