Host has detected Malware! Help!!!

Discussion regarding Joomla! security issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
cmckeef
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Host has detected Malware! Help!!!

Post by cmckeef » Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm

My host company contacted me and said that Malware was detected within a file on my site. The directory they said was "infected" is "../photos/docs/etc/royal-dumpe-dinner-threatre/map.html".

I searched through my media manager, scoured all the source code, tried to look up "royal-dumpe-dinner-threatre" (which is exactly that - a threatre), and followed the URL - which I'm pretty sure it is definitely some type of virus.

My site will be shut down if I don't find out how to get this file off my site. I have no idea where the file is; I have never even heard of it!

Please help, I don't know where else to turn.

Thank you.

SiteScriptors
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Host has detected Malware! Help!!!

Post by SiteScriptors » Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:34 pm

You should be able to simply use your FTP client or Cpanel File Manager to delete the offending file. That should satisfy your hosting provider.

Then, and this is extremely important, run--don't walk--to the Joomla! Security Center and start reading! Start with the Joomla! Administrators Security Checklist and continue on from there.

In general, you're going to need to go through your log files and possibly work with your hosting service's tech support to see if you can figure out how the hacker got in. Then, you'll need to delete your entire site and restore it from a backup that you know is clean. By then, you've hopefully buttoned down your site so that it doesn't get hacked in the future.