Wrapper/iframe to display search results

General questions regarding the use of languages and encoding issues in Joomla! 1.0.x. Multi-lingual site solutions can be discussed in the child board. Translation discussions are now separate and can be found in the Working Groups Area.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

mrjon
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 1:44 pm

Wrapper/iframe to display search results

Postby mrjon » Thu Mar 27, 2008 11:08 am

I am putting together a real estate site. I want it to grab information from another site through a search form and display it in an iframe/wrapper.
Below is the URL I need to set my iframe to...
http://www.dezrez.com/DRApp/Search.ASP?WCI=Results&WCU& <?php echo($_SERVER['QUERY_STRING']); ?>
I can't put this in the wrapper component cause it strips the PHP out.
The search form itself is set up in a module position so it's always visible.
Anyone know a way around this, it's beyond me??

shoutback
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:36 pm

Re: Wrapper/iframe to display search results

Postby shoutback » Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:40 pm

Hiya Mate,

Having the same problem, the Iframe needs to have the SRC embedded of the search form, Although I too am lost as Joomla's "Wrapper" is dynamic.

Did you find a solution to this in the end? :) :eek:

User avatar
choomla
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 7:11 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Kingdom of Sweden
Contact:

Re: Wrapper/iframe to display search results

Postby choomla » Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:12 am

I am also looking for a solution on how to create a dynamic iFrame with Joomla.

Hot did it go for you, mrjon and shoutback?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18017
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Wrapper/iframe to display search results

Postby infograf768 » Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:41 am

One could target an existing Iframe with the dynamic url.
That IFrame could be harcoded in the template or created using a content, using jwrapperbot (see my sig).
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
choomla
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 7:11 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Kingdom of Sweden
Contact:

Re: Wrapper/iframe to display search results

Postby choomla » Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:58 am

Let´s say I want a dynamic iframe that shows the adress which will be sent with it in the URL - would that be possible?

Like this: www.mysite.com/section/?http://www.othersite.com/... . [or: section/?http//:www., or something like that]

For example: I put a searchform from another provider on my site, in an iframe, and when clicking on it, the visitor will be moved to a dynamic search-results-page provided by the other site, but still being on my site - would that be possible?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18017
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Wrapper/iframe to display search results

Postby infograf768 » Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:40 am

choomla wrote:For example: I put a searchform from another provider on my site, in an iframe, and when clicking on it, the visitor will be moved to a dynamic search-results-page provided by the other site, but still being on my site - would that be possible?


The search form (an html page) should have a target added to the resulting link or in its header.
If this is the case, then naming the results Iframe with this target would be sufficient.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
choomla
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 7:11 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Kingdom of Sweden
Contact:

Re: Wrapper/iframe to display search results

Postby choomla » Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:40 am

Great - there wouldn´t possibly be a version of this extension for Joomla 1.0x ??

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18017
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Wrapper/iframe to display search results

Postby infograf768 » Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:27 am

choomla wrote:Great - there wouldn´t possibly be a version of this extension for Joomla 1.0x ??

No way... Not only would it have to be enterily rewritten but we will not provide support anymore to the Joomla 1.0. series as of July.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

eponymous
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:16 am

Re: Wrapper/iframe to display search results

Postby eponymous » Thu May 14, 2009 3:29 am

I have a similar issue. But not quite the same.

I am using Noah's Classifieds software. It is not a Joomla component. There is a login bridge for Joomla and Noah's Classifieds.

My problem is that I need to be able to dynamically load users' profiles from Noah's classifieds in a Joomla wrapper. So, users can find a users profile by going to www.mysite.com/username . I obviously wouldn't want to create a wrapper for each user, so I need to be able to create this wrapper dynamically, or dynamically change the URL of a wrapper.

Is there any component that can help me?

Thanks

User avatar
corrado444
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 850
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 8:30 am
Location: Sacramento
Contact:

Re: Wrapper/iframe to display search results

Postby corrado444 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 12:12 am

To the last poster. Did you ever find a solution to your question? I don't think there is a component that can help you, but there is definitely a way to handle noah in a Joomla Iframe. I have found several sites that do it quite well. Yet no one seems to be in the mood to share the technique.

Any luck in your site?
Watch the 10 Minute Joomla! Tips Video Podcast
Itunes: itpc://10minutejoomlatips.blip.tv/rss/itunes
Feedburner http://feeds.feedburner.com/10MinutesJoomlaTips


Return to “Language - 1.0.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests