The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:19 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 16
Ok, I moved my site from one host to the other, and Im 99% sure that everything in the configuration.php files is correct for the new server - so here is the problem: When I go to my site -

http://www.kelleysisland.com

I get:
The page you are trying to access does not exist.
Please select a page from the main menu.

But every other page on the entire site works, so if u start at the front page component:

http://www.kelleysisland.com/index.php? ... e&Itemid=1

All the interior links work fine - so any possible explanations for this? This is an emergency and any help would be appreciated!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:33 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:50 am
Posts: 18674
Location: Omaha, NE
Turn off SEF and see if the issue goes away.

_________________
Regards, Dave
http://www.kiwaniswest.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:33 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 16
Well that did the trick - but then it creates another problem because I have hard links to the sef urls in multiple places.

So there has to be something i can do so it both. As it worked on the previous server there must be a setting I can change to make it work here?

I have this on the admin side right now:

Joomla! "Register Globals Emulation" setting is `ON`. To disable Register Globals Emulation, navigate to Site -> Global Configuration -> Server, select `OFF`, and save.
Register Globals Emulation is `ON` by default for backward compatibility.

Would changing that help or just screw up a bunch of other components/modules?

Thanks for all and any help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:36 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:50 am
Posts: 18674
Location: Omaha, NE
You should turn off register globals emulation from a web safety point of view. It will have no effect on your SEF.

Are you using a third party SEF. If so, try clearing our the table of urls and have it rebuild your URL's for you. That is likely your issue caused by moving from one site to the other.

_________________
Regards, Dave
http://www.kiwaniswest.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:55 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 16
Sweet!! That did the trick - everything works (And I am using JoomlaSEF for the record.

Thanks so much for solving that nightmare. Now I can concentrate on destroying Ipower.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:34 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 5
dhuelsmann wrote:
You should turn off register globals emulation from a web safety point of view. It will have no effect on your SEF.

Are you using a third party SEF. If so, try clearing our the table of urls and have it rebuild your URL's for you. That is likely your issue caused by moving from one site to the other.


I'm experiencing a very similar problem, and I'm hoping this solution will work for me, as well. However, can you please elaborate on how to clear out my table of URLs? I can't find it anywhere within my Admin Control Panel -- is it within a file somewhere?

Thanks!

dcd170


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:43 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Online

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:50 am
Posts: 18674
Location: Omaha, NE
Are you using a third party SEF and are you on Joomla 1.0.x?
If you are on 1.5.x please post your question in the correct forums for 1.5.x
If you arn't using a third party SEF in 1.0.x there is nothing to clear out.

_________________
Regards, Dave
http://www.kiwaniswest.org


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 10:12 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 12:57 am
Posts: 5
Oops! I'm very sorry -- I didn't realize I was in the Joomla 1.0 Forum. I am using 1.5.3, so I will post there. Thanks, and sorry again!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group