What is the difference between Blog & Article from the Joomla perspective?

General questions relating to Joomla! There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
joomlan
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

What is the difference between Blog & Article from the Joomla perspective?

Post by joomlan » Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:24 pm

Hi,

I wanted to know what is the difference between Blog & Article in Joomla ? Are they considered different ? If yes then why in the CB, under articles & Blogs tab in the user profile, same content is shown ? In other words, the same articles are also shown under Blog tab ??

thanks

AmyStephen

Re: What is the difference between Blog & Article from the Joomla perspective?

Post by AmyStephen » Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:34 pm

In Joomla! when you see the word "blog" it is basically saying a SET of articles where only the introductory text is showing. These are on your category-blog or section-blog pages. The "article" page would only have 1 content item - the article showing.

Does that makes sense? Terminology is always fun! In v. 1.5 the words "content item" will go away and be replaced with "article."

Please let me know if more is needed!
Amy

joomlan
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Post by joomlan » Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:43 pm

Thanks Amy,

1- Are you saying only the introductory text is showing ? How about the whole article ? Do you have to click on the introductory ...(more) to open the whole article in blogs? If so then doesn't Article do the same thing ? Are blogs saved collectively ?

2- Are all the blogs considered (bundelled) one content item ?