Embedding You Tube Video into Webpages

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! site? Pop your questions in here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
eratl
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Embedding You Tube Video into Webpages

Post by eratl » Sat Jan 26, 2008 2:55 pm

I'd like to be able to embed You Tube and other video clips into my Joomla webpage.  According to You Tube, the code for the video I want to embed is:

I clicked on Insert/ edit embedded media and that gives me a choice of type of media ie., Flash, Shockware, Real Media, Windows Media Player, etc.  It also allows me to set the height & width of the video clip.  It does not have a place where I can insert the You Tube html code which has a link to the You Tube video I want to embed.

I tried going to the main body of a blank webpage, opening the button for html and copying & pasting the code above into the page but, nothing happens. The code above is the only html code on the page. When I preview the page it is totally blank although when I look back at the main body of the page, I see a little red dot. I notice I can align that dot to the left, middle or right but still when previewed the video does not show up at all.

Also....aside from You Tube, is there a way to save any video clip you come across and insert it in a way similar to You Tube?  I often need to embed video clips from political candidate speeches too.

Can anyone provide further instructions?

Kathe
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Embedding You Tube Video into Webpages

Post by Kathe » Sat Jan 26, 2008 3:38 pm

You might want to look at the plug-in extension called Allvideos.  It's a dandy for stuff like that.  Go to the extensions area of the joomla site and you'll find a link for it there.