Access timeout on Joomla Folder

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! site? Pop your questions in here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
obisi
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Access timeout on Joomla Folder

Post by obisi » Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:27 pm

Suddenly I am unable to access my joomla folder on my domain (houseofpraiseva.org/joomla/) via all ftp programs. I am getting a CGI timeout error. I've tried filezilla and joomlaXplorer with the same failing outcome.

My hosting company are also baffled as they don't see why from their end. I am on a windows platform and this is not the only domain I have on windows but the only one that is giving me this problem (of course the only one with most content at this point).

Could this happening bcos of an extension that is misbehaving? I have backed up the site successfully using joomlapack and I am able to still install and create content from the backend wihtout any problems. I am just not able to see the directory. Please help. Thx

leahcim_dach
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Access timeout on Joomla Folder

Post by leahcim_dach » Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:58 am

Is this only the joomla directory affected, or all directories (main directory above /joomla/)? If all your directories are affected the same, I would say it's a hosting issue, if it's only your Joomla! directory...that would pretty much narrow it down.

Do you have access to any error logs you can look at and get an idea of what might be causing it?

Chad

obisi
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by obisi » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:40 am

Fortunately only the "joomla" directory and its sub-folders are affected. This is why I think it is not a hosting problem. I have 3 other Joomla sites with the same provider with no access issues.