The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 10:14 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 12:13 pm
Posts: 150
I'm working on a site using Joomla! 1.0.13 Stable [ Sunglow ] that I inherited from another designer, and am having major problems.

None of the top buttons work in Apple's Safari browser Version 3.1.1 (5525.18) (preview, upload, save, apply, close, help).
However, Safari is the ONLY browser that doesn't totally screw up the coding I enter into the Main Text: (optional) window. I tried using Firefox and Opera on the mac, and Explorer on the PC and they all completely screwed up the coding so that the coding didn't do what it was supposed to, but instead showed the actual code.

Is there a keyboard command that will save my changes? That way I could still use Safari....


thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 9:45 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 12:46 pm
Posts: 10
Same problem. I spent many hours learning Joomla in order to roll out my first site (www.myshenandoah.org), only to learn that my primary publisher can not save anything on his Mac/Safari machine.

Hovering over the Save icon, Safari reports it is a link to javascript SubmitButton('save'), but when he clicks on it nothing happens. Nothing. He has JS enabled, pop-ups are not blocked, and all cookies allowed.

Is there a work-around?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 9:09 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 8:58 pm
Posts: 32
Happened to me too, on IE7.
It happened only after transferring my site to a new server.
I'm using joomla 1.0.15


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 2:09 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:26 pm
Posts: 4
livvving wrote:
I'm working on a site using Joomla! 1.0.13 Stable [ Sunglow ] that I inherited from another designer, and am having major problems.

None of the top buttons work in Apple's Safari browser Version 3.1.1 (5525.18) (preview, upload, save, apply, close, help).
However, Safari is the ONLY browser that doesn't totally screw up the coding I enter into the Main Text: (optional) window. I tried using Firefox and Opera on the mac, and Explorer on the PC and they all completely screwed up the coding so that the coding didn't do what it was supposed to, but instead showed the actual code.

Is there a keyboard command that will save my changes? That way I could still use Safari....


thanks!



I am having the same problem with Leopard 10.5.2 & Safari 3.1.1. Apple (doesn't) have any updates at all for me to install, so I guess they haven't addressed this Safari browser bug. Safari 3.1.1 refuses to play nice with Joomla 1.0.1.2 ; when the last version of Safari worked fine for me. I cannot use any of the function buttons (save, preview,apply, close, help). I have been using Firefox, no problems with (1.0.1.2 Sunfire) and Firefox's editor.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 4:40 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 28
Did we ever find a fix for this? It's pretty annoying not being able to use Safari.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 3:41 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 5:08 pm
Posts: 5
I'm having same problem on Firefox tabs. Save and Apply and Logout not working. All other functions working. Close works. So its probably a permissions based issue not the browser...??? Publish and unpublish work. Logout works when in menu item manager screen.

So, save, apply, logout functions are disabled when in EDIT mode.... ONLY when in Menu Item Edit!!! - buttons work in all other screens.....

new Joomla 1.5.3 platform


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 10:07 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 10:01 am
Posts: 3
I am also curious for a solution, i'm having the problem in section/category-manager and in content-manager: i can't save or close or anything in a new or existing content item. system is 1.0.15 with firefox or IE. so who finds out and helps us?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 12:15 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:47 pm
Posts: 17913
Location: Toledo, OH
Whoa! backup the truck. Safari is often not able to be used with TinyMCE, but users report some success with JCEditor and JCK Editor.

Look to your WYSIWYG first and foremeost. You'll find it at the root of most of this kind of problem.

Big Hint: SHUT IT OFF!

_________________
Don't HACK the Joomla! core. Extend and Override.
http://harpervance.com -
Live Joomla! Help available at the site M-F, 9-12 am edt 2-5pm edt.
by appointment on evenings and weekends.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:52 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 4:19 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Atlanta, GA
I had the same problem and found the solution to be installing a different wyziwig editor.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 4:02 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 6
Hi,
Only I have the solution of this problem. I can bet on this.

Login to following site in any of browsers Google chrome, Safari, IE6,IE7, IE7 to see it working
http://demo.svnitsolutions.com/medicent ... index2.php

with username:manager
Password: manager

I hope after checking this you can see that your problem has a solution.

_________________
Thanks, Vinod Dubey
vinod@svnitsolutions.com
skype id: vinnpro
Feel free to email me, Obliged to help you


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:44 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 5:57 pm
Posts: 17
vinoddubey wrote:
Hi,
Only I have the solution of this problem. I can bet on this.

Login to following site in any of browsers Google chrome, Safari, IE6,IE7, IE7 to see it working
http://demo.svnitsolutions.com/medicent ... index2.php

with username:manager
Password: manager

I hope after checking this you can see that your problem has a solution.


How does this help?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:16 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:41 pm
Posts: 2
I found a solution to the case when my Save and Save&Close stopped working.. I think this solution might work for other people...

I had just upgraded to Joomla 1.6 and the Save buttons stopped working. If you are using a Javascript debugger (such as firebug) you might see that there are javascript errors generated from the page.

Probably what is causing it is that your browser has cached an old version of the previous javascript file.

Try refreshing the page properly (ctrl-F5) or clearing your cache and the problem will go away.

Hope this helps someone.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:41 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:02 am
Posts: 80
Location: New York, NY
Clearing the cache did seem to help.

I don't know what to call the pop up kind of window that appears in Joomla but if that doesn't appear (and in its place a whole window for the options or preferences) then I have the problem on Save and Close. Is that window run by jQuery?

Do you also get "The most recent request was denied because it contained an invalid security token. Please refresh the page and try again." when you have left the login window open?

_________________
Opera Singer and Website Producer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:47 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 9:51 am
Posts: 8
Well, as a matter of fact this problem still exist with Joomla 2.5. I have done a new install yesterday (24th January 2012) and had the message "The most recent request was denied because it contained an invalid security token. Please refresh the page and try again." more then once.

It appears during backend log in or working with the control panel, for instance trying to leave an article with "save & close".


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 1:28 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 1:20 pm
Posts: 2
Hello All,

i am having problem in submit button, betting my head all day.

when i click <button type="submit" class="validate"><?php echo JText::_('JSAVE');?></button>

what it should do is to call this function i.e
Joomla.submitbutton = function(task)
{
}

but it isn't

http://berkshirecollege.co.uk/english-c ... gistration

i am using Version 1.7.1

Any Suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group