Installing 2nd Joomla on Subdomain Question....

Joomla version 1.0 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
xe-cute
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Installing 2nd Joomla on Subdomain Question....

Post by xe-cute » Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:12 am

My main site has Joomla installed and I have set-up a subdomain to install another instance of Joomla.

My quick  question is can I set joomla up on the subdomain without any conflict ion with the main sites Joomla and it's mysql tables?

Or is there anything I need to do such as give it a different prefix for the tables or will it auto set-up the mysql database knowing it is on a subdomain and so is a different joomla installation?

The last thing I want to do is set it up for the database to over-ride/replace or conflict with the installation on my main Joomla and then have to fix that back up.

Thankyou in advance for your help upon this matter.

montano
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Installing 2nd Joomla on Subdomain Question....

Post by montano » Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:53 am

When you do the initial installation of the second Joomla, you will be asked what the table prefixes will be.  By default it's jos_  just change that to jos2_.  That should do it.  It would be even better if you had a separate database for the second site if you can manage that with your webhost.

mdetko
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by mdetko » Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:54 am

And i have to install second joomla for subdomain?

What can i do, when i want to use the same joomla instalation and control panel for www.mysite.com and also for shop.mysite.com and galery.mysite.com???

bgareth2
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice