Wamp and IIS

Joomla version 1.0 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
jayd
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Wamp and IIS

Post by jayd » Wed Nov 07, 2007 3:43 am

I installed wamp but the little icon shows 2/3 full and says "1 of 2 services running"

I think my problem is that I have IIS running on port 80 so apache can't run there. I haven't installed joomla yet because I was trying to run the php script in the installation manual and haven't been able to do that yet.

When I went to services and tried to launch apache from there I got an error message "windows could not start the wampapache on local computer.

I have a couple of Dan Rahmel books and was already to rock and roll here but have been whomped by wamp.

***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed ********** Manual signatures are NOT allowed ********** Manual signatures are NOT allowed ********** Manual signatures are NOT allowed ********** Manual signatures are NOT allowed ********** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****______

one solution to above that worked: I removed the IIS component thus eliminating competition over the 8080 port. Now the wamp server shows up fine.

Next problem is that I need to modify mysql but the only thing I have on the wamp download was an ugly msdos console. is there a nice mysql admin gui I can download and integrate into my WAMP5 Version 1.7.3 with little pain?

any ideas??

***** Manual signatures are NOT allowed ********** Manual signatures are NOT allowed ********** Manual signatures are NOT allowed ********** Manual signatures are NOT allowed ********** Manual signatures are NOT allowed ********** Manual signatures are NOT allowed *****_____

the drama continues: