Page 5 of 7

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2011 7:26 pm
by hnasje
Thanks for this great fix, I would never found this solution myself

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 7:53 am
by denfordian
@kjellhahlen - Thank you for sharing this fix :)

My hosting provider emailed me about an hour before updating the server to PHP 5.3 which didn't really give me much time to research any implications to Joomla.
Many thanks again.

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:41 am
by prjoshi
Thanks! you saved my time....great work

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:12 am
by TomT
5 pages of happy people, :), just wanted to add my THANKS.

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:15 pm
by m3ali_103
A very simple solution to this problem (without any extra code):
In Function.php file line 92
replace this: $result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), $arguments);
with $result = call_user_func_array(array($class, $method), &$arguments);
In line 100 of the same file
replace this: $result = call_user_func_array($target, $arguments);
with : $result = call_user_func_array($target, &$arguments);

the solution is very simple put '&' before $arguments.

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 5:15 am
by omaclay
Saved my life. You rock.

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:39 pm
by sokobanjas
It worked ! My sites apartmani sokobanja and sokobanja apartments are alive !!! Thanks a lot!!!

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2011 3:24 pm
by koraf
Thousands and thousands of thanks kjellhahlen. The fix has solved the issue in several joomla 1.0.15 sites that some of my customers don't want to migrate to updated joomla versions due the migration costs of all components and templates.

Kind regards!

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:18 am
by neil-dnnsigns
;D thanks worked perfectly.

Neil

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:33 pm
by Oliver2000
Absolute great help! Perfect fix in the minute.... thank you.

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:43 pm
by mantra123
I am unable to download the zip file, pls help getting same error with my client website. email [email protected]

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:01 am
by mantra123
Thanks managed to fix the problem with the fix code

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:46 am
by ronpeled
kjellhahlen, thanks man! this totally saved my day and fixed the issue. I avoided trying to roll back mysql packages or trying to upgrade to latest version of Joomla.

Will be migrating into latest versioin which I believe is 1.7 or move to wordpress altogether. Thanks!

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 11:04 am
by Atog
You safed my day with this patch!!! Thank you so much!

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:02 pm
by snakedude
Guys this solution appears to be exactly what I need to get my website back up & running correctly, however I'm a complete novice so have no idea how to apply the fix, would it be possible to get some step by step instructions to sort it at all?

Thanks in advance,

Mike.

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:39 pm
by AgusDiaz
kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip
I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))
In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);
The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.
Thanks so much! Muchísimas gracias!

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:39 am
by ItalloSan
kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip
I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))
In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);
The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.
Brilliant - Cheers :D

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:38 am
by gooalex
Thank you very much helped

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:25 pm
by etna
Kjell Hählen

Thank you, as I can see you saved a lot of people including me.

:) KaliMera OliMera

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 3:00 am
by Sto0of
Kjell Hählen you're the man! Thanks a lot for that fix! :p

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:24 pm
by obscene
this is an excellent solution which helped me when having to migrate one of my clients who hasn't been able to upgrade yet. thank you!

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:45 pm
by sgz
kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip
I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))
In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);
The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.
Thank you very much!!! I've got a site that's as good as dead, but must remain online, and your fix saved it after a fifth movement to another host :)

kjellhahlen - saving Joomla 1.0.x sites since 2010 :))

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 7:24 am
by ShahG
Great job...

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:45 pm
by jengels
Works like a charm ... WOOHOO

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:36 pm
by gabrielhch
Thanks for this solution!!! Good job

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:14 pm
by Mubi
I use joomla 1.015 site i have litle same problem with PHP versie. When my hosting provider have upgrade PHP and Database to new version i get this message "Error establishing a database connection" and change my all text from frontpage. Backround/Admin side all text is working without any problem.. I have use same files (fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip) but didnt get any

New version
Database : 5.5.9
PHP Version: 5.2.17

old version
Database : 5.1.41
PHP Version: 5.2.17

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:22 pm
by stara
stianhaugli wrote:I had a PM today from a user that couldnt figure this out, so
For your convenience:

I've attached patched files for joomla 1.0.15.
fix_joomla_1015_php_530.zip
Copy them to /includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php and /includes/vcard.class.php
The _old files are the originla 1.0.15 source files. Dont copy them....

Your thanks should go to kjellhahlen for providing this sollution earlier in this thread.
Thanks for your solution.
I had 5-6 Joomla 1.0.xx sites on server and yor patch solved all
PHP version 5.3.10
Thanks again :)

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:24 pm
by vsabah
kjellhahlen wrote:
fix_joomla_10x_php_530.zip
I wrote a fix. My version is Joomla 1.0.13 but I suppose it will not be very different for later versions.

You sould replace two files by the ones in the attachment:

/includes/Cache/Lite/Function.php
(this solves the "Reference instead of value"-problem)
/includes/vcard.class.php
(to make the contact form work again)

If you rather add the changes by hand:
The changes to vcard.class.php are minor, look for:

Code: Select all

if(!function_exists('quoted_printable_encode'))
In Function.php I added a this line twice:

Code: Select all

$arguments = $this->fixCalls($arguments);
The new function (fixCalls) is added at the end of the file.
Excellent! ;)

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 3:30 am
by krusty
Thanks for the fix :) the .zip file did it for me!

Re: Warning: Parameter 2 to frontpage() expected to be a ref

Posted: Sat May 19, 2012 4:04 am
by an52
Kjell, I realised I had a problem on a forgotten site perhaps 1-2 years after it first happened. Your files fixed the problem. Many thanks for sharing.