404 errors on all links, front page of joom fine

Joomla version 1.0 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
humblejoomguy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

404 errors on all links, front page of joom fine

Post by humblejoomguy » Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:27 pm

I can log into admin side but all the fron page links appear to be broken with this error.
The requested URL /index.php was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
I tried to set all the url friendly setting to off but no effect.

All the links from the front page end in .html if that's a clue.
the joomla install is off a link from the static site. I know it's a legacy version.
does anyone have an idea where I should look for a fix?
A previous developer installed it about 4 years ago.

Thank you for any help you can offer.
here is the link to the website
http://www.fortlauderdaleairboatadventure.com/articles/

Joyce Mar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Re: 404 errors on all links, front page of joom fine

Post by Joyce Mar » Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:03 am

The first thing I would look at is whether SEF is enabled. If it is, disable it and try again. Mis-configured SEF is commonly the cause when the home page looks fine but clicking on anything else on the front end results in a 404.

humblejoomguy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by humblejoomguy » Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:23 am

I have that all disabled but thanks

Joyce Mar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by Joyce Mar » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:52 am