How to rename database table prefix back to default jos_ prefix?

Discuss the development and implementation of Joomla! components here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
railer
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:52 pm

How to rename database table prefix back to default jos_ prefix?

Postby railer » Sat Apr 29, 2006 1:26 am

Hi,

I'm running 1.0.7 and I want to install the SMF Forum component. What is the best way to go about renaming my database tables to the default "jos_" prefix? I made the mistake of giving the tables my own prefix, but SMF requires the default prefix. Please help, before I mess everything up.

Thanks in advance,

railer

JAF Site Design
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 402
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 3:57 pm
Contact:

Re: How to rename database table prefix back to default jos_ prefix?

Postby JAF Site Design » Sat Apr 29, 2006 2:06 am

this probably isn't the neatest/easiest way, but it gets the job done.

in phpMyAdmin export the DB and select "create"

in your favorite text editor find and replace all of your prefixes with jos_

Then import using that sql command

I am looking into where to tell joomla the prefix
-Josh Fee, JAF Site Design

View the website as it is created (using Joomla! of course)http://www.jafsitedesign.com


Return to “Components”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests