Page 1 of 1

Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 9:19 am
by CHCG
I am having problems with my heavily modified rhuk_solarflare template, using only two columns (left and main). It looks good on all my browsers (IE 5, FF, Netscape 7 and Safari)  using MacOS X.4, but terrible on my clients IE for Windows. It seems as the main content breaks the width and places the content left. Furthermore, the new header picture looks awful and gets a grayish background. None of this appears with my Mac-browsers.
If you care to check, the URL is: http://www.anotherproject.se.

Can anyone explain why this is happening - and more importantly, suggest a cure?

Thanks in advance

Problems with template in IE for Windows (on modified Rhuk_Solarflar-template)

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:14 pm
by Mullimangooooo
We have the same problems @ www.progressiefwoerden.nl. Haven't had a chance yet of reading the dutch forum yet. If there is a suitable explanation or better... a solution for this problem, I'll let you know.

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:26 pm
by Mullimangooooo
Have a look at: >> Topic: Joomla/Mambo CSS + Layout in 5 minutes

Could it be "Quirks mode" w're talking about here?
Now, unfortunately, people sometimes end up in quirks mode accidentally. It usually happens two ways:

    * They use the doctype declaration straight from the WC3 web page, the link ends up as:
      DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd
      Except this is a relative link on the WC3 server. You need the full path as I showed above.

    * Microsoft got involved again (I swear they do all their development after they've been down the pub) and set up IE6 so you could have valid pages, but be in quirks mode. This happens by having an "xml prolog" put before the doctype.
     

The part about IE6 quirks mode is important for us. We are only really designing for IE6+, so we will make sure that its running in standards mode. This will minimize the hacks we have to do later on. Its worth noting that the xml prolog isn't essential anyway. We'll be taking note of future releases of Joomla and be leaving it off.


Have a look at: http://www.compassdesigns.net/articles/ ... plate.html

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 3:25 pm
by CHCG
Thanks for all advise. I now understand that the problem lies in the doctype declaration and that it can be solved. I am, however, not savvy enough to understand how I change the code to make it look equally good in IE 6 as in other browsers. Could someone help me, by altering the submitted code below:

Code: Select all

<?php
defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );
// needed to seperate the ISO number from the language file constant _ISO
$iso = explode( '=', _ISO );
// xml prolog
echo '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="'. $iso[1] .'"?' .'>';
?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<?php mosShowHead(); ?>
<?php
Thanks alot for your help - and hey - happy new year!

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 3:34 pm
by JUANN
Same problem in IE and firefox in FEDORA CORE4
Image

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 3:45 pm
by Mullimangooooo

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 5:14 pm
by JUANN

Code: Select all

<?php
defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) or die( 'Restricted access' );
// needed to seperate the ISO number from the language file constant _ISO
$iso = explode( '=', _ISO );
// xml prolog
echo '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="'. $iso[1] .'"?' .'>';
?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
Then i remove

Code: Select all

echo '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="'. $iso[1] .'"?' .'>';
, but the problem persist in IE and Opera

What I suppose  to do?

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 2:47 am
by CHCG
Thanks Mullimangooooo(and others), but developing simply ain't good enough. Got to find a cure NOW! Considering IE is the overwhemengly most used browser, Joomla templates must work for it. Please advise on a fix...

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:29 pm
by CHCG
I world really like to keep this thread going until someone can advise an unserstandable cure for my problem (see start of thread). From previous replies (thankfully received), I gather that the solution is to find in the doctype declaration, but I still do not understand exactly what to change. I am just to "laymanish" still...

So the question remains:

How should the doctype be altered to make the rhuk_solarflare ii template work cross-platform for all major browsers, expecially (Windows) IE 5-6, but also for Mozilla, Firefox, Netscape, Opera and Safari.

If you could examplify using my submitted code above it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks alot for your time.

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:52 pm
by JUANN
http://www.anotherproject.se looks ok in OPERA but in IE  :(  Try a better template    ;)

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:53 am
by CHCG
I may be way out of line here, but this seems to be one of the major developing issues. Isn't there someone out there who could advise how to mend this??? Your expertise would be much appreciated.

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows -> problem solved by HarryB

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:41 pm
by Mullimangooooo
-> problem solved by HarryB http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,24705.0.html

Ever wonder why, when using Internet Explorer, the text size and other characteristics of the Print and Email Popups, and the Offline Page has a different look than other pages of your site.  Well, in Joomla! Versions 1.0.x, the first line of Print and Email popup HTML pages looks like this:

   

Well, IE has a bug that causes it to go into "Quirks Mode" if this is the case...and that messes up the page rendering.

You can fix this by making a simple hack to the index2.php and offline.php files:

find this in the files ( ~line 123 in index2.php; ~line 63 in offline.php)

    // xml prolog
    echo '';

and change it to this:

    // xml prolog
    // echo '';

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:56 pm
by Mullimangooooo
I've tried the 'solution' that HarryB provided in his thread. It does not work for our site.  ???

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:56 am
by CHCG
As no one has yet been able to provide a proven solution to the problem described at the beginning of this thread, I gather that it must be a tough cockie to crack. Out of curiosity, I want to ask if there are many others experiencing page rendering problems with rhuk-solarflare and IE for Windows?
What have you done to solve the problem? Do you have any suggestions for any similar template that works better with IE?

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:56 am
by clarensio
Other solution.  To open the file "template_css.css" and to change

from
#left_outer {
  float: left;
margin-top: 2px;
width: 165px;
}

to
#left_outer {
  float: left;
margin-top: 2px;
width: 161px;
}

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:52 am
by CHCG
Thanks for the advise, Clarensio. I tried it, but unfortunately it didn't make any difference. Might have to do with other changes I have made, based on the kind advise of several savvy members.

I have actually almost got it working in IE6 (it works well in FF and other major browsers), but just almost. By changing the xml declaration, I managed to mend the broken rhuk_solarflare template (Thanks HarryB!). However, the right border is not visible now. I suspect the reason must be somewhere in the CSS, but where? I am grateful for any suggestions! The URL is http://www.anotherproject.se.

Furthermore, the template breaks (the same way it did before in IE6) in IE5 for Mac. I haven't had the chance to see what happens in IE5 for Windows, but maybe someone with access to that version could check at http://www.anotherproject.se.

Anybody's advise is much appreciated!!! :D

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 3:45 pm
by clarensio
CHCG wrote: Thanks for the advise, Clarensio. I tried it, but unfortunately it didn't make any difference. Might have to do with other changes I have made, based on the kind advise of several savvy members.

I have actually almost got it working in IE6 (it works well in FF and other major browsers), but just almost. By changing the xml declaration, I managed to mend the broken rhuk_solarflare template (Thanks HarryB!). However, the right border is not visible now. I suspect the reason must be somewhere in the CSS, but where? I am grateful for any suggestions! The URL is http://www.anotherproject.se.

Furthermore, the template breaks (the same way it did before in IE6) in IE5 for Mac. I haven't had the chance to see what happens in IE5 for Windows, but maybe someone with access to that version could check at http://www.anotherproject.se.

Anybody's advise is much appreciated!!! :D
From template_css.css:

.outline

The problem is the breadth of the box (planned now on width=806) too small!! 

It experiences to do some tests. 

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:54 pm
by CHCG
Thanks again for your input. I presume it's the outline setting in the index file you refer to, since there is no width property for .outline in the css. Tried to increase the width in the index file but depending on value, it either didn't effect the issue or made it worse. Does anyone have other suggestions?

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:19 pm
by pabloferre
Hi friends,
I been trying to find out a way to make my site "Solar Flair" look right, but I keep having the same central and right tables show under the left menu column, I followed all instruction explained here and nothing happened, I can't believe this is so complicated, please keep trying to find a solution.

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:52 pm
by pabloferre
OK friends,
An other user soved this problem by adding a !important marker to his CSS, I am following with him here:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,35957.0.html

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:31 pm
by Lenora
clarensio wrote: Other solution.  To open the file "template_css.css" and to change

from
#left_outer {
  float: left;
margin-top: 2px;
width: 165px;
}

to
#left_outer {
  float: left;
margin-top: 2px;
width: 161px;
}
 

I tried this and it worked for the most part, but the "Art Progress" page is still messed up in IE6...not sure why.  It's ok in Firefox and IE7.  At least I'm making progress.

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:19 pm
by k4lch
hi all
don't remenber the web addeww but there is a varible with solarflare template available
http://www.compassdesigns.net/ has some excellant tutorials on making your own template

checout http://www.w4am.org it is using the dynamic width solarflare template

k4lch

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 3:19 pm
by pabloferre
Hi Friends,
Ok here is how I solved the problem, following with what Lenora told us
from
#left_outer {
  float: left;
  margin-top: 2px;
  width: 165px;
}

to
#left_outer {
  float: left;
  margin-top: 2px;
  width: 161px;
}

I found out that it works but as the menu column stretches it doesn't look to good, also the central and right column moves to the right and brake a little the template design, so I decide to change the sizes for the left and central columns and this worked nearly perfect here are my css:


#left_outer {
  float: left;
margin-top: 2px;
width: 163px;
}

and

#content_outer {
padding: 0px;
margin-top: 0px;
margin-left: 2px;
/** border: 1px solid #cccccc; **/
float: left;
width: 637px;
}

I wish this helps.

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 11:04 am
by KingChaos
I got a much better solution.
It's called WP :)

Been strugling with the IE problem too long now. Joomla out. WP in.
Sorry joomla, but can't seem to find any good templates that supports IE, and I don't wanna waste more time on this issue.

Good luck to the rest of you....

Re: Problems with template in IE for Windows

Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:19 am
by Dannyhola
CHCG wrote:I am having problems with my heavily modified rhuk_solarflare template, using only two columns (left and main). It looks good on all my browsers (IE 5, FF, Netscape 7 and Safari)  using MacOS X.4, but terrible on my clients IE for Windows. It seems as the main content breaks the width and places the content left. Furthermore, the new header picture looks awful and gets a grayish background. None of this appears with my Mac-browsers.
If you care to check, the URL is: http://www.anotherproject.se.

Can anyone explain why this is happening - and more importantly, suggest a cure?

Furthermore, the template breaks (the same way it did before in IE6) in IE5 for Mac. I haven't had the chance to see what happens in IE5 for Windows, but maybe someone with access to that version could check at http://www.anotherproject.se.

Anybody's advise is much appreciated!!!
From template_css.css:

.outline

The problem is the breadth of the box (planned now on width=806) too small!!

It experiences to do some tests.