Page 1 of 2

How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 8:10 pm
by Andrejj
How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla! - Copyright (C) 2005 - 2007 Open Source Matters. All rights reserved." />

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 1:04 pm
by X-Bumble
You can amend the Meta tags inside your control panel. Click on Global Settings and they are in there.

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 5:49 pm
by Andrejj
Hi, well what i can see you can only set the in under the button "Metadata"
Global Site Meta Description and Global Site Meta Keywords

The content as i describe are not there to change?

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 11:15 am
by MikeHell
Look in the file includes/frontend.php - on line 195. If you just want to remove it then you can comment it out.

// $mainframe->addMetaTag( 'Generator', $_VERSION->PRODUCT . ' - ' . $_VERSION->COPYRIGHT);

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 5:47 pm
by lucard
MikeHell wrote:Look in the file includes/frontend.php - on line 195. If you just want to remove it then you can comment it out.

// $mainframe->addMetaTag( 'Generator', $_VERSION->PRODUCT . ' - ' . $_VERSION->COPYRIGHT);
And a better way would be.

Goto your template and add the following:

Code: Select all

$document = &JFactory::getDocument();
/* @var $document JDocument */
$document->setGenerator('');
This will not remove the generator tag but it will clear the contents. The big advantage is when you update joomla to a newer version ( which will happen in the future ) you don't have to redo all your changes in the code.

Oops..... Errmmm this works in J!1.5 I don't know if it will work in J!1.0

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:42 am
by blueskyairways
Lets just assume I have no idea which file to update inthe teplate with this code....could you point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:18 am
by elrafei
this solved my problem
Look in the file includes/frontend.php - on line 195. If you just want to remove it then you can comment it out.

// $mainframe->addMetaTag( 'Generator', $_VERSION->PRODUCT . ' - ' . $_VERSION->COPYRIGHT);
thanks for help

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:44 pm
by Andrejj
Has the includes/frontend change name in the latest joomla 1,5?
i can´t find it?

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:58 pm
by ccsnv
Has the includes/frontend change name in the latest joomla 1,5?
i can´t find it?
Try to edit the head.php in this location: /libraries/joomla/document/html/renderer/head.php.

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 11:00 pm
by ccsnv
it is on line: 83
Before:

Code: Select all

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;
After:

Code: Select all

//$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;
Just comment it out "//"

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:15 am
by Andrejj
Before i change this, Is there a change that 404SEF can change this automaticly ?? So i don´t have to do this?

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 7:39 am
by nyak
Hi All,
Is there a problem a rise when we remove the code ?
Such in upgrade to newer version ?

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:26 pm
by ccsnv
Havent had to upgrade this install yet. The only thing that I can think of is you might have to go back in and re-comment out that line. I am running 1.5.7 and dont have any issues.

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 3:27 pm
by njjacob
I just did

$document = &JFactory::getDocument();
/* @var $document JDocument */
$document->setGenerator('');

and it works perfectly and like he said, when u update u dont ahve to worry about changing the code.

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:49 pm
by trichnosis
you can also apply the joomlawork sef patch. it will remove the generator tag

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:44 pm
by myaviation
lucard wrote:
MikeHell wrote:Look in the file includes/frontend.php - on line 195. If you just want to remove it then you can comment it out.

// $mainframe->addMetaTag( 'Generator', $_VERSION->PRODUCT . ' - ' . $_VERSION->COPYRIGHT);
And a better way would be.

Goto your template and add the following:

Code: Select all

$document = &JFactory::getDocument();
/* @var $document JDocument */
$document->setGenerator('');
This will not remove the generator tag but it will clear the contents. The big advantage is when you update joomla to a newer version ( which will happen in the future ) you don't have to redo all your changes in the code.

Oops..... Errmmm this works in J!1.5 I don't know if it will work in J!1.0
where do you put this in the template? where in the code exactly? in the body.. before the body??

me lost.

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:58 pm
by dynamicyuva
myaviation wrote:
lucard wrote:
MikeHell wrote:Look in the file includes/frontend.php - on line 195. If you just want to remove it then you can comment it out.

// $mainframe->addMetaTag( 'Generator', $_VERSION->PRODUCT . ' - ' . $_VERSION->COPYRIGHT);
And a better way would be.

Goto your template and add the following:

Code: Select all

$document = &JFactory::getDocument();
/* @var $document JDocument */
$document->setGenerator('');
This will not remove the generator tag but it will clear the contents. The big advantage is when you update joomla to a newer version ( which will happen in the future ) you don't have to redo all your changes in the code.

Oops..... Errmmm this works in J!1.5 I don't know if it will work in J!1.0
where do you put this in the template? where in the code exactly? in the body.. before the body??

me lost.

i am running 1.5.9
See it below where to put it.


// SEO SECTION //

$seo = $this->params->get ("seo", "Joomla Software solutions Template"); # JUST FOLOW THE TEXT
$tags = $this->params->get ("tags", "Joomla Software, Joomla Templates, Youjoomla"); # JUST FOLOW THE TEXT

$slide_right = $this->params->get ("slide_right", "Watch Video");
$slide_bottom = $this->params->get ("slide_bottom", "Popular News");
#DO NOT EDIT BELOW THIS LINE
define( 'TEMPLATEPATH', dirname(__FILE__) );
include( TEMPLATEPATH.DS."settings.php");
include( TEMPLATEPATH.DS."styleswitcher.php");
require( TEMPLATEPATH.DS."suckerfish.php");
[code]$document = &JFactory::getDocument();
/* @var $document JDocument */
$document->setGenerator('');
[/code]


?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="<?php echo $this->language; ?>" lang="<?php echo $this->language; ?>" >
<head>





its ok this resolves the prob. but i`ve another question,

if u look at the code now u`ll find this

Code: Select all

<meta name="generator" content="" />
does it has any negative effect,

or better would be if someone explain the purpose of this meta tag in joomla

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:03 am
by Mello
But what if I need to change the author code?

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:28 pm
by Madus
Change this in the head.php file -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;

To this -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


To change (or add) a "author" tag... Copy above and paste it directly below, then change it to look like this

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="author" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


:D hope that helps

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 3:59 am
by Ward123
Edit the index.php file of the default template on your site.  The template should have a block of PHP at the top of the file starting with <?php and closing with ?>.  Find this block and just before the closing PHP brace, insert the following lines of code:

// Remove the generator meta tag
$this->setGenerator(null);


Or to change it use:

// Change the generator meta tag
$this->setGenerator('My Text here');


Upgrade proof... if you don't change your template

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:40 am
by kamleshpatidar
Add to the ward123 reply, you can set other meta tags as per your needs. For Example Robots, author contact, submission & all of that what do you want....
Just add your meta tag code after this code in your template/index.php

Code: Select all

<jdoc:include type="head" />


Code you have to add

Code: Select all

<?php
         $this->setMetaData('robots', 'ALL' );
         $this->setMetaData('author','www.kamleshpatidar.com');
         $this->setMetaData('language','English');
         $this->setMetaData('submission','http://www.thamesmarketing.com');
         $this->setMetaData('contact','[email protected]');
         $this->setMetaData('format','text/html');
         $this->setMetaData('document-classification','Website Marketing & Software Development Company');
         $this->setMetaData('document-distribution','Global');
         $this->setGenerator('');
?>

Thanks,
Kamlesh Patidar

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:43 am
by xalvinx
open " includes/joomla/document/document.php "
in line between 80-90 find text var $_generator = 'Joomla 1.5 ! Open Source Content Management.';

change it !

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:18 am
by tstevenson
Madus,
Thank you, your code works great.

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:15 am
by walidplus
hi,
becareful changing joomla core can make you troubles later in upgardes.
this question is posted before in the forum, u should take a look before asking.
here is the answer of brian. (the joomla specialist)

brian a écrit:
There is a much easier way to do this without any "hacks" to the core joomla files. It's in my joomla hidden secrets presentation and only requires you to make a small modification to your site template.

In the <head> section of your template insert the following code

Code:
$this->setGenerator(null);


to remove the generator tag

or to be more funky

Code:
$this->setGenerator('Drupal');


You should NEVER hack core joomla files as you will potentialy lose any hacks when you do an upgrade

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joomla!

Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:01 pm
by AlvinAVP
Madus wrote:Change this in the head.php file -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;

To this -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


To change (or add) a "author" tag... Copy above and paste it directly below, then change it to look like this

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="author" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


:D hope that helps

This is Awesome! It works on my site. Thanks!!

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joom

Posted: Tue May 18, 2010 2:01 pm
by zenith20
Madus wrote:Change this in the head.php file
so, i found some head.php, could you please tell me which one?! besides this, they're read only files (i'm editing it on my localhost)

thank you in advance,
Zenith

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joom

Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:46 pm
by vhin3125
Madus wrote:Change this in the head.php file -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;

To this -

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


To change (or add) a "author" tag... Copy above and paste it directly below, then change it to look like this

$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="author" content="YOUR TEXT HERE" />'.$lnEnd;


:D hope that helps
Thanks to this! I am a new joomla! user and I find this one a bit tricky yet fun to do :)
Anyway, does it contribute to SEO if you change the
$strHtml .= $tab.'<meta name="generator" content="'.$document->getGenerator().'" />'.$lnEnd;
?

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joom

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:37 pm
by jjpedersen
I also highly recommend this little plugin that will allow you change the default generator meta tag from meta name="generator" content="Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management" to anything you like!

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... data/14368

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joom

Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 7:59 am
by reall
jjpedersen wrote:I also highly recommend this little plugin that will allow you change the default generator meta tag from meta name="generator" content="Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management" to anything you like!

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... data/14368
Thank you so much! ;)

Re: How to change this? <meta name="Generator" content="Joom

Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:28 am
by diskmanjd
Simply add the following line inside the HEAD tags of your Template index.php file:

<?php $this->setGenerator('Change this to whatever you like or leave it blank'); ?>

This way IF you upgrade your CMS core the template file is not affected by the upgrade.