The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:23 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:10 am
Posts: 9
Hey,

Am pretty new to this whole Joomla! thing so excuse my stupidy......

When I try to install a .zip template using the Admin section, I get the following error:
ERROR: Could not find a Joomla! XML setup file in the package

My permissions are all set correctly to 777 as far as I know.

I also tried to do it manually, by uploading the template to the /templates section by ftp software, but when I go to template manager to set it as default, its not there. It's not a problem with the template as I tried some other free templates and they don't upload by both methods either......

I'm using .htaccess file as I'm on a shared server. Maybe its something to do with that coding??

Anybody any ideas??

Many thanks in advance¬

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:49 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:00 pm
Posts: 61
What template are you trying to install?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:10 am
Posts: 9
Trying to install a template I purchased from template monster. The template is fine as I also tried to install a template from SiteGround and it didn't work either.

any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:30 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:00 pm
Posts: 61
The error usually means what it says i.e. there isn't a valid XML file in package. I've come across this with some free templates I've downloaded where the XML file has either been missing or wasn't written correctly but would of thought purchased ones should be okay.

Only thing I can think of is that its a 1.0.X template and it needs legacy mode to be enabled to be installed on 1.5.X


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:52 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:10 am
Posts: 9
Can you point me in the direction of a 1.5 free template and I'll try that to see if it works?

Thanks again for your help...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:55 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:00 pm
Posts: 61
Try J A Purity viewtopic.php?t=215367


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:59 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:10 am
Posts: 9
I tried a 1.5 Joomla template from SiteGround and it didn't work either.......

Pants.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:11 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:10 am
Posts: 9
The J A Purity one didn't upload either!!
Must be something wrong with my permissions or .htaccess file


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:41 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:00 pm
Posts: 61
Can you check php info (in admin go to help>>system info>>php Information) and see if you have safe mode turned on (if you search the page it is called safe_mode)?

It should be off and used to cause the same problem sometimes under 1.0.X if it was on.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 5:58 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:10 am
Posts: 9
Thanks again for your reply and time.

My php file is displayed below. safe_mode is OFF.....


allow_call_time_pass_reference Off Off
allow_url_fopen Off Off
always_populate_raw_post_data Off Off
arg_separator.input & &
arg_separator.output & &
asp_tags Off Off
auto_append_file no value no value
auto_prepend_file no value no value
browscap no value no value
default_charset no value no value
default_mimetype text/html text/html
define_syslog_variables Off Off
disable_classes no value no value
disable_functions no value no value
display_errors Off Off
display_startup_errors Off Off
doc_root no value no value
docref_ext no value no value
docref_root no value no value
enable_dl On On
error_append_string no value no value
error_log no value no value
error_prepend_string no value no value
error_reporting 2047 2047
expose_php On On
extension_dir /usr/lib/php4 /usr/lib/php4
file_uploads On On
gpc_order GPC GPC
highlight.bg #FFFFFF #FFFFFF
highlight.comment #FF8000 #FF8000
highlight.default #0000BB #0000BB
highlight.html #000000 #000000
highlight.keyword #007700 #007700
highlight.string #DD0000 #DD0000
html_errors On On
ignore_repeated_errors Off Off
ignore_repeated_source Off Off
ignore_user_abort Off Off
implicit_flush Off Off
include_path .:/usr/share/pear .:/usr/share/pear
log_errors On On
log_errors_max_len 1024 1024
magic_quotes_gpc On Off
magic_quotes_runtime Off Off
magic_quotes_sybase Off Off
max_execution_time 30 30
max_input_nesting_level 64 64
max_input_time 60 60
memory_limit 8M 8M
open_basedir no value no value
output_buffering no value no value
output_handler no value no value
post_max_size 8M 8M
precision 14 14
register_argc_argv On On
register_globals Off Off
report_memleaks On On
safe_mode Off Off
safe_mode_exec_dir no value no value
safe_mode_gid Off Off
safe_mode_include_dir no value no value
sendmail_from no value no value
sendmail_path /usr/sbin/sendmail -t -i /usr/sbin/sendmail -t -i
serialize_precision 100 100
short_open_tag On On
SMTP localhost localhost
smtp_port 25 25
sql.safe_mode Off Off
track_errors Off Off
unserialize_callback_func no value no value
upload_max_filesize 2M 2M
upload_tmp_dir no value no value
user_dir no value no value
variables_order EGPCS EGPCS
xmlrpc_error_number 0 0
xmlrpc_errors Off Off
y2k_compliance On On


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 6:57 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:10 am
Posts: 9
My Relevant PHP Settings:

Joomla! Register Globals Emulation: OFF
Register Globals: OFF
Magic Quotes: ON
Safe Mode: OFF
File Uploads: ON
Session auto start: OFF
Session save path: /vhost/vhost7/***/********/www/*********/sessions
Short Open Tags: ON
Output Buffering: OFF
Open basedir: none
Display Errors: OFF
XML enabled: Yes
Zlib enabled: Yes
Disabled Functions: none


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:31 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:10 am
Posts: 9
Think i've worked it out.

My upload_tmp_dir has no directory. This would mean i can't upload bits and bobs.

Anyone know how to assign a directory to this NOT using php.ini as I'm on a shared server.

I presume you can use .htaccess..... anyone know how?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:52 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 1:10 am
Posts: 9
pleeeeaaassseeee help


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:26 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:55 pm
Posts: 11
Yeah, I am having the same problem. I have a directory for my "upload_tmp_dir" though, its set at "/tmp" however I still get this same error. Any help at all???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:58 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:41 pm
Posts: 44
Just a thought, have you opened the template zip? is there another zip inside?

If so there might be 2 one for v1.0 and one for j1.5 use one of these (the one for J1.5) ;)

Quinn


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:26 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:55 pm
Posts: 11
nope. not the case. I really am getting frustrated though :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:15 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:55 pm
Posts: 11
So, just an update. The templates that do work for my site re the 1.0 templates, which is not all too surprising, but still, I would LOVE to get this other template working (the default template [no offense] is SO ugly). :P


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:04 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:31 pm
Posts: 23
I too am having the same issue when trying to upload new components / plug-ins. Everything was working fine then after removing a few plug-ins, it stopped allowing me to upload. I have extracted the file locally and determined that the file does not have a zip in a zip and tried multiple uploads. When I looked under System Settings as requested above, my settings were ok.

Any solution would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance, RB

http://www.utilityinnovations.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:43 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:25 pm
Posts: 4
Hello there, I'm having the same problem. I have two different plugins I'm trying to install and neither are working. It is telling me that it could not find a Joomla XML file. It is getting very frusterating :'( Any help would be awesome. Thanx :)

BenH


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:48 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:31 pm
Posts: 23
I JUST FIGURED IT OUT ON MY END

Siteground, my web hosting company upgraded their PHP to a new version. I had to go edit my htaccess file to reflect the PHP settings.

Here was the reply I got that really fixed the problem

Quote:
Please note that the Joomla is working better at this time with php 5.1. Please check the following address for more information on how to setup different php versions for the subfolders on your account:

http://kb.siteground.com/article/How_to ... sions.html

Once you have the above set the issue should be resolved.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:49 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 2:26 pm
Posts: 28
thanks robbob,

That fixed the problem for me too. I am also hosted on Siteground and made the switch to php5.1 and everything started working!

I was starting to think I was going crazy since I was *sure* there was an .xml file in the install :)

James

_________________
********************
James Friesen - Mango Tree Media
http://www.mangotreemedia.com
Together Building a Better Website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:00 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:25 pm
Posts: 4
jfreeze wrote:
thanks robbob,

That fixed the problem for me too. I am also hosted on Siteground and made the switch to php5.1 and everything started working!

I was starting to think I was going crazy since I was *sure* there was an .xml file in the install :)

James


Its seems that the php 5.2 on Siteground was the issue. I am up and going as well now with 5.1. Thanks for the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:19 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:05 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Western Isles
This seems an intermittent issue on Siteground with J-1.5.1. We ran into the same problem 2 days ago when our test build mysteriously decided to freak out, we downgraded to php-5.1 but RS2gallery failed to play nice so went back to 5.2 with the issue now gone. :D More bugs to squash!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 4:08 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:31 pm
Posts: 23
I've had my issues with SiteGround too. My homepage tends to load a blank white page on occasion then when I log into the support area, they are really quick to send you to the PAID support area


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:25 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 7:43 am
Posts: 16
Hi. I'm having this same issue (unable to find a joomla XML setup file) when I atempt to upload components/templates, but my hosting is through hostgator and not siteground. Does anyone know if downgrading my php from 5.2.5 to 5.1 would work for me as well? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:59 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:44 am
Posts: 52
All,

It may not be relevant, but found a code bug in the "install.class.php" file and added/corrected the code as follows:
Code:
function deldir( $dir ) {
   $current_dir = opendir( $dir );
   $old_umask = umask(0);
   while ($entryname = readdir( $current_dir )) {
      if ($entryname != '.' and $entryname != '..') {
         if (is_dir( $dir . $entryname )) {
// echo "MsoPath => mosPathName( $dir . $entryname ) <br>";
            deldir( mosPathName( $dir . $entryname ) );
         } else {
// echo "Dir  => $dir Path => $entryname <br>";
            // Added by Nyle E. Davis on 07/05/08 to check for copied file
            // and delete dir even if dir is blank.
            if (file_exists($dir . $entryname)) {
               @chmod($dir . $entryname, 0777);
               unlink( $dir . $entryname );
            } else {
               echo "File => ". $dir . $entryname ." <= not found, but deleting
                     install directory anyway! <br>";
               @chmod($dir, 0777);
               rmdir( $dir );
            }
         }  // end if-else
      }     // end if $entryname
   }        // end while
   umask($old_umask);
   closedir( $current_dir );
   return rmdir( $dir );
}

To see what is happening, just uncomment the two echo lines. Code line numbers are 487-514. This patch should go into the base source code.

What happens before the patch is if the temp file is not correctly copied into the temp directory, then the "unlink" command, with file name, will not execute, as logic is false; so added the "file_exists" test and then the "rmdir" when the false scenario occurs.

Anyway that is not solving my problem and since I actually building a component and working from "localhost" all the other ISP related comment do not apply to may situation.

Would like some insite. Have the .xml install file built and in the .zip file, but could not find any reference in the joomla sites and/or HOWTO about a .xml "SETUP" file. Of course still reading all the stuff, but have not found it yet.

My echo statement in the above code, showed that all the files are copying and/or installing correctly, but this seems to be another .xml file that needs building so setup/config can occur.

Open to feedback and appreciative of all!!

Thanks!

OMR


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:19 am 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:44 am
Posts: 52
All,

Went through all the docs at:

viewtopic.php?t=63383

Nothing on a "SETUP" .xml file. Went through the code. Again install.class.php is file in question and routine is part of the msoinstall class. Code follows:
Code:
   function findInstallFile() {
      $found = false;
      // Search the install dir for an xml file
      $files = mosReadDirectory( $this->installDir(), '.xml$', true, true );
      if (count( $files ) > 0) {
         foreach ($files as $file) {
            $packagefile = $this->isPackageFile( $file );
echo "CurFile => $file PkgFile => $packagefile <br>";
            if (!is_null( $packagefile ) && !$found ) {
               $this->xmlDoc( $packagefile );
               return true;
            }  // end if !is_null
         }     // end foreach
         $this->setError( 1, 'ERROR: Could not find a Joomla! XML setup file in the package.' );
         return false;
      } else {
         $this->setError( 1, 'ERROR: Could not find an XML setup file in the package.' );
         return false;
      }        // end if count
   }           // end function

As you can tell this is the right code and the right error message being shown. This code actually does look for a .xml package file. Problem is I have mine included in the .zip file and the echo I added shows that it is resident in the temp install directory, however the code line $packagefile = $this->isPackageFile( $file ); does not read the file as a package file, so $packagefile is blank and the system errors.

Can someone with Joomla class code experience, inform me of what is wrong?

Thanks!

OMR


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:24 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:44 am
Posts: 52
All,

Emailed/PMd in to a couple of the Joomla team members for some res here.

If documentation was complete the error code could be looked up and the explaination of why it occurrs could be found.

OMR


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 2:43 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 11:01 pm
Posts: 4785
Location: Toronto, Canada
If you send me the package you are trying to install I can take a stab at figuring out why it isn't working. Also be sure to indicate exactly what you are able to do and what doesn't seem to be working.

Also, be sure you have read the documentation at:
http://docs.joomla.org/Using_the_instal ... stallation

Ian


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:28 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
Quote:
What happens before the patch is if the temp file is not correctly copied into the temp directory, then the "unlink" command, with file name, will not execute, as logic is false; so added the "file_exists" test and then the "rmdir" when the false scenario occurs.


If the files are not going to temp correctly that is the issue, not the installer. So I would say you need to figure out what is wrong in the xml file or in your environment that makes it that the files are not moving to temp correctly.

The idea that there is not information on how to make a proper xml file for a 1.5 template is just not correct. Perhaps you are confused and think that it must be called setup.xml?

Most likely either the template has a mistake or you have file ownership issues.

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group