Can I include Joomla modules in a non-Joomla site?

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
infocom
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Can I include Joomla modules in a non-Joomla site?

Post by infocom » Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:36 pm

I have Zencart in a sub-directory of the main Joomla site, a common setup. But I want maintain the same header, menu and footer as Joomla on the Zencart site. The menu is most important. In the past I have re-built it all to be the same which can be time consuming.

So I wondered in my Zencart template I can include some code to show the output of the Joomla modules, without reading the database direct. I wonder if I can include a class file, call a function referencing the module position and hey presto! I hedge my bets I can but not sure where to start.

Thanks

infocom
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: Can I include Joomla modules in a non-Joomla site?

Post by infocom » Tue Mar 24, 2009 7:15 pm

I have figured out one way to do it, which is great, but would prefer to call the module using Joomla functions direct...

1) I created a new Template that shows only the module content, nothing else, not even any <HTML><BODY>, stylesheets or anything, just the module and any other code I want displayed.
2) Then I created a menu item to the home page (its a hidden menu).
3) I then assigned this new template to that menu item - so if you go the menu link only the module will be displayed
4) Using CURL I retreived this URL content and displayed it on my non-Joomla site!

So with this method you could show any content and or module from your site on another site.