Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
shiggydiggy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long

Post by shiggydiggy » Sat Aug 15, 2009 10:22 am

is what I get when i try to log in as admin (only have one user so I haven't tried any others yet).
is my host playing up?

ccauth
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long

Post by ccauth » Sat Aug 15, 2009 10:37 am

This usually means the implementation of SSL on your server is not correct. The error is usually caused by a server side problem which the server administrator will need to investigate.

Below are some things that are worth trying.

- Ensure that port 443 is open and enabled on your server. This is the standard port for https communications.

- If SSL is using a non-standard port then FireFox 3 can sometimes give this error. Ensure SSL is running on port 443.

- If using Apache2 check that you are using port 443 for SSL. This can be done by setting the ports.conf file as follows

— clip —
Listen 80
Listen 443 https
— clip —

- Make sure you do not have more than one SSL certificate sharing the same IP. Please ensure that all SSL certificates utilise their own dedicated IP.

- If using Apache2 check your vhost config. Some users have reported changing <VirtualHost> to _default_ resolved the error.