ATTENTION: IPOWER DOMAIN SERVERS HACKED

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
NyHick
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

ATTENTION: IPOWER DOMAIN SERVERS HACKED

Post by NyHick » Thu May 19, 2011 2:04 am

There are countless sites that are currently reporting malicious code being showing up on their sites in the last 48 hours.

The code:

Code: Select all

>
This appears to be directly inserted into database records which would indicate that it most likely has something to do with their MySQL servers.

What I know so far:
Doing a Google search for "" and cross-referencing sites via WHOIS, where the script is has been indexed, indicates that every site is hosted on the following Domain Servers:
Name Server: NS1.IPOWER.COM
Name Server: NS2.IPOWER.COM
or
Name Server: NS1.IPOWERDNS.COM
Name Server: NS1.IPOWERWEB.NET

8 out of 8 sites that I cross-referenced came back with one of the above.

Futhermore, there are post showing up in the Joomla! Forums (http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=267&t=621440) as well as on the Wordpress Forums (http://wordpress.org/support/topic/i-di ... range-code) where other users are continuing to experience the same issue.

What does the script do:
To my knowledge, nothing. It comes back with a "Page not found." That is not to say that it won't do anything, it's just not doing anything currently - except causing additional load time by querying to an external URL.

What you should do: