Joomla 1.5 - End of Support - April 2012 - Are you Mad?

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Chacapamac
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joomla 1.5 - End of Support - April 2012 - Are you Mad?

Post by Chacapamac » Fri May 11, 2012 1:22 pm

Joomla will stop security release and all development of 1.5 in April 2012

Look at : http://developer.joomla.org/development-status.html
Long Term Support Release:
Joomla! 1.5.26
End of Support:
April 2012.
Note:
Major security fixes will be done until release of 3.0 in September 2012.
This is incredible !

This is a really brilliant idea, I explain.

50 millions + site out there build on the Joomla platform come from web sites developers or individuals that build their web presence on this framework. All those PEOPLE are the pillars of what Joomla is today.

As developer we already going on a rough road with the transition to 1.5 to 1.7 and to 2.5 and 3.0. No real backward compatibility between 1.5 to the newer versions. 2.5 will be compatible with 3.0, 3.5, I don’t know?

If you look at numbers, you can see that this instability show in trends around the world.

Go to —> http://www.google.ca/trends/?q=Drupal,j ... ess&ctab=0

Joomla start a steady decline in popularity from 2009 to today, comparatively to Drupal or Wordpress.

Now Joomla, with great wisdom, add to the incertitude what I think will be another big blow to the platform that close to 50 millions of sites and all those developers and people that follow them and give their entire support will be left in the dust.