Why component version differs?

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
rahilwazir
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Why component version differs?

Post by rahilwazir » Fri Oct 03, 2014 5:27 pm

I see couple of Joomla 1.5 third party components:
  • JoomFish(com_joomfish)
    • manifest.xml= 2.1.5
    • version.php => 2.1.3
  • Community Builder (com_comprofile)
    • comprofile.xml= 1.1
    • comprofilej.xml= 1.2.3
Now as you can see the version number differs within the component. When I visit the component page from my admin panel It says different than viewing the version at Extension Manager => Components listing.

I want to know why is this for? Or the developers forgot to change the version numbers?

xfsgpr
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Why component version differs?

Post by xfsgpr » Fri Oct 03, 2014 9:36 pm

I can only think of the fact that they have been updated to work with new versions of joomla. you are still using 1.5 but the latest version is 3.3.6. component/extensions makers have to keep up with Joomla if they want their products to be used widely.

By the way, when are you planning to upgrade your Joomla? Just curious here.

rahilwazir
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by rahilwazir » Sat Oct 04, 2014 9:23 am