do I need Joomla installed on my local computer

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
mkarmali1
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

do I need Joomla installed on my local computer

Post by mkarmali1 » Thu Mar 19, 2015 8:58 pm

My situation is the following:
Someone developed a website using Joomla 1.5 but that person is no longer available.

I'm to make changes to that website. It also uses VirtueMart. All the developer left me is the admin back-end user name and password, although what privileges that combination has, I don't know.

My questions are the following:
1. How do I go about finding out who the host is? I'll need the account username and password.
2. If I'm successful in finding the host, do I need to install Joomla 1.5 on a local machine that I'm going to be working on? or is the admin back-end sufficient to work on changing things like the html etc. on the web pages on the site?

I recently saw a video of someone developing a Joomla website from scratch and it seemed that he did not have to use an ftp program or any thing like that. All he did was add templates, categories, modules, articles in the back-end admin mode and they would automatically be changed on the hosting server. But he installed Joomla (where?) using a one-click install from the host's website.

This causes me to wonder how everything works in Joomla? and my initial question: do I need to install Joomla on my local machine? or do I install an ftp program and contact the host for the user-name and password for ftp'ing the files back and forth?

Thanks,
Any help will be much appreciated!

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master