Installation Step 5: FTP setup --- error HELP!!!

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
buzybonnie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Installation Step 5: FTP setup --- error HELP!!!

Post by buzybonnie » Sat Aug 25, 2007 7:00 am

I am getting an "The FTP settings are not valid or your FTP server is not compatible with Joomla!; could not connect with server."

I have triple, quadruple and ten times over checked username and password and tried just about everything under the sun configuration wise for the root folder.  It won't "auto search" for it either.

I know I can ftp because i was using cute ftp just before that. I even made sure it wasn't happening cause I was still logged into cuteftp.

Could I actually have a server that is not FTP compatible??  I am using host "Crystaltech.com".  It is not an apache server but I was able to install Joomla 1.12 on it for one of my other sites.  I had to tweak something when I did it. Could this be the issue?

The Advanced tab info is already filled in with IP and a port number.  Does the port number matter or can I override that to something else that might make a difference?

Help!

Bonnie

redx
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Installation Step 5: FTP setup --- error HELP!!!

Post by redx » Tue Aug 28, 2007 7:33 am

Hi,

Is the port number 21?

regards

Redx
What you see is not always real.

buzybonnie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by buzybonnie » Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:14 pm