Page 1 of 1

Output Buffering problem

Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:37 pm
by OpT1mUs
When I installed Joomla 1.5 in the preisntall chech Output Buffering was On and it's recommended that it should be Off
(if I'm not mistaken), so what I would like to know is :
Can i have any problems with Joomla because of output buffering, and if yes, how would they manifest?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 8:58 am
by humvee
OpT1mUs wrote:It would be nice if anyone actually responded.
All other topics about output buffering problem that I found via search had 0 replies...
You are not entitled to a response this is a community and people put in their time voluntarily if you want support on demand then I suggest you pay for it!

Have you bothered checking out the PHP site for description of the setting?
Did you read the Pre-Installation screen for Joomla!

"These settings are recommended for PHP in order to ensure full compatibility with Joomla!
However, Joomla! will still operate if your settings do not quite match the recommended."


Don't expect everything will always work as a result of having a setting that does not match the recommendation. Joomla! will still operate but it may well be that it won't provide you with the full functionality that you would otherwise get.

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:09 am
by OpT1mUs
I suggest you reread my post and please point me out where did you see me demanding anything in
"It would be nice if..."

How can I turn off output buffering?

[Mod Note: The element quoted in my note was a bump post by you that was deleted. Suggest you "reread" the Forum Rules!]

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 9:56 am
by dirijat
Add to your .htaccess file this string:

Code: Select all

php_value output_buffering Off
That's ALL! ;)

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:31 am
by abusa1
You can turn off standard ouput_buffering in the PHP.ini file like this

output_buffering = Off

Open your PHP.ini in Notepad and search for "output_buffering" and replace word On with Off. Note: there are several places where output_buffering may appear when you search. The line you need is the one that says "output_buffering = On" (this is assuming that you want to turn off the output_buffering).

To find PHP.ini on windows you can:
1. Locate a WAMPSERVER icon (located near clock on a taskbar).
2. Left click the icon and a menu will popup.
3. Go up to PHP folder and side menu will pop out.
4. In a side menu find and click on php.ini to edit it.

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 1:34 pm
by faribeiro
If I use a web server. How can edit php.ini?

I showd install firt? I don't find the file php.ini.

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 6:38 pm
by honeytran
When I installed my joomla, I had the display errors "on" and output buffering "on".

to change this:
1. left click on wampp-->php-->php settings-->and then uncheck or check whatever settings you need to.

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:58 pm
by iwingmusic
add this to your .htaccess file:

Code: Select all

php_value output_buffering "0"

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:21 am
by svempa
iwingmusic wrote:add this to your .htaccess file:

Code: Select all

php_value output_buffering "0"
Worked like a charm, just tested it with the new J1.6 Beta3 on a shared host :)

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:10 pm
by andronikos1990
Many thanks to all of you. I think that

"left click on wampp-->php-->php settings-->and then uncheck or check whatever settings you need to"

is the easier and most functional settings mentioned here. I recommend those instructions.

At least they worked for me.

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:44 pm
by cosmikel
andronikos1990
Hi I'm a newbie and got stuck at this installation point with the same error.

I cannot find the place you mention !

Have looked in the folder c:\wamp
but found no php or php settings,

So I thought you might mean the Apache server at http://localhost/
but also could not find it.

could you please expand on the path and where I can find it?:
"...wampp-->php-->php settings-->..."

Grateful for any help! :-)

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:05 pm
by cosmikel
Found the answer on another forum!

For all newbies!!!

Not stated or apparent is the hidden WAMPSERVER icon (hidden in Windows 7 anyway) at the bottom right hand side of the desktop. Click on that and all will be clear.

Only took me an hour to find it! Ha! Ha! ;-)

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:53 am
by muadib25
iwingmusic wrote:add this to your .htaccess file:

Code: Select all

php_value output_buffering "0"
Hello!

I put this line in various places in .htaccess and uploaded it back to the server, but when I do recheck the Output Buffering is still on. :(

Any clues?

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Mon May 23, 2011 11:25 am
by alfredo_tripicchio
I use this and it works:

Code: Select all

php_flag output_buffering off
Alfredo

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Sat May 28, 2011 4:49 am
by ariyagallery
please help me
in the way of instalation joomla i have to change PHP setting for output bufering off
I search for PHP.ini for change that but I do not have that and ahve to file called
PHP.ini-development
PHP.ini-production
what should i do? which one must be changed and how
by dubble click on this two file none of them do not open
what shuld I do for opening this two file and which one must be modified
an how ?
dear friend your prompt reply will be appreciated
with thanks
ariya gallery

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:52 pm
by FC360
I'm getting the same and tried the htaccess suggestion but it didn't work and I don't have a clue where this php.ini file is located since I am on a shared server.


Where in the htaccess file should the line go? My htaccess file has a load of text in it and I'm not sure where to put the text.

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:19 am
by arvendal
Sometimes the ISP has made configurations on their servers which you don't may override with commands in .htaccess. Maybe this is the case when you don't get you .htaccess to work?

Rgds

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 10:41 am
by Milbo
For me the main question is not answered:

Why is joomla 1.7 recommending output buffering to be off? Our component uses for the email the commands http://php.net/manual/en/book.outcontrol.php , which afaik need output buffering, so I ask again: "Can i have any problems with Joomla because of output buffering, and if yes, how would they manifest?"
and yes, this is common knowledge "Don't expect everything will always work as a result of having a setting that does not match the recommendation. Joomla! will still operate but it may well be that it won't provide you with the full functionality that you would otherwise get."

But that does not help me to understand the problem as user. I am developer and it is a lot easier to see first the problem as user to know then how to fix the problem.

Atm it seems so that virtuemart2 recommends output buffering ON, so what is the glitch? With output buffering to off, vm2 wont be able to send html emails afaik. But what is the problem in joomla1.7 then? Template issues?

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 5:25 pm
by Milbo
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2148 ... ing-in-php

It seems that ob_start works anyway our mail works also without. Maybe the link above helps to understand why it should be avoided. But it seems there wont be any glitch, the problems arise, when there is a component insisting that output buffering must be enabled, which can lead to lousy programming style.

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:51 pm
by Milbo
???? This does not really make sense to any of my posts.

I just answer what happens when output buffering is ON. There was no answer, so we didnt stop searching for it. After we found out, I thought I should provide the information, because this is the thread you find, when you google for it.

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 5:45 am
by odalcet
I'm installing Joomla 1.7.2 in my local server. ( Ubuntu 10.10 )

php.ini is located at /etc/php5/apache2

I modified line 284:

before:
output_buffering = 4096

after:
output_buffering = Off

Then I restarted apache2:

/etc/init.d/apache2 restart

Then I reloaded my browser and Joomla said

ouput buffering - recommended : off - actual: off

- - -- - - - - - - - - -

Pending issue: confguration.php writeable. Joomla says still not supported

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 3:34 pm
by forumexpert01
thanx... i solved my such pblms

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 5:43 pm
by Shortlike
thanks..

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 2:47 pm
by Vysero
When I try to right click my wamp icon all it does is refresh the server. I tried both "php_value output_buffering "0"" and "php_flag output_buffering off" to my .htaccess file neither worked. What do I need to do to get output buffering turned to off? I am currently still in the setup process, can I change it later?

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:17 pm
by OlySoftCIO
Changes in the .htaccess files will only work based on the default configuration of the Apache server and on the default PHP5 configuration. I'm setting up a client with Ubuntu12.04-server lts as thier base server and the changing .htaccess provides no joy.

However, making the change in the php.ini file as @odalcet suggested worked wonders.

Peace!

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 9:41 am
by humvee
If you have access to the main server configuration files such as php.ini then that is what you edit.
If you do not have such access (most people on shared hosting) then you have to use htaccess/local php.ini files that you create.
In order for an .htaccess file and or local php.ini files to work the server has to be configured to allow such changes to be made in the first place. SOme hosts prohibit this and it is not a given that a newly installed AMP server is properly configured to allow this either.

Re: Output Buffering problem

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 6:35 am
by ubiquetous
abusa1 wrote:You can turn off standard ouput_buffering in the PHP.ini file like this

output_buffering = Off

Open your PHP.ini in Notepad and search for "output_buffering" and replace word On with Off. Note: there are several places where output_buffering may appear when you search. The line you need is the one that says "output_buffering = On" (this is assuming that you want to turn off the output_buffering).

To find PHP.ini on windows you can:
1. Locate a WAMPSERVER icon (located near clock on a taskbar).
2. Left click the icon and a menu will popup.
3. Go up to PHP folder and side menu will pop out.
4. In a side menu find and click on php.ini to edit it.
Thanks for the tip. This worked for my setup. The only difference is that I have XAMPP installed instead of WAMP. So my process was:

1. Go to xampp_install_dir/php/
2. Opened the php.ini file with Notepad
3. Searched for the phrase "output_buffering" using Find
4. Changed value from

Code: Select all

output_buffering=4096
to

Code: Select all

 output_buffering=Off
5. Saved php.ini and closed Notepad
6. Opened XAMPP control panel
7. Stopped Apache & MySQL
8. Restarted Apache & MySQL

Thanks again.