Page 1 of 1

ERROR MESSAGE:Unable to load session storage class: database

Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:20 am
by turbowebguy
I successfully had 1.5.3 working on my Windows hosted site I'm in the design stage, I decided to upgrade to 1.5.5, removed the existing site, cleared database tables, etc., installation of joomla and locating the database worked fine, all successful but after I removed the installation folder I try to go to the site or to the administrator folder/panel I get this error:

Unable to load session storage class: database

I tried everything I could think of in the configuration file, when I commented out:

/* Session Setting */
var $lifetime = '15';
var $session_handler = 'database';

the front end loaded fine, but obviously I couldn't connect to the administrator backend still (of course there has to be a session handler). I saw a forum post in german (post-transalation) that said it may have something to do with updating a dll for PHP 5.1+ with a windows host if the windows server is too new, I'm not sure about that, would have to contact my hosting service to see if they'd do that but any ideas? Here's my configuration.php file with redacted info:

<?php
class JConfig {
/* Site Settings */
var $offline = '0';
var $offline_message = 'This site is down for maintenance.<br /> Please check back again soon.';
var $sitename = 'xxxxxx';
var $editor = 'tinymce';
var $list_limit = '20';
var $legacy = '0';
/* Debug Settings */
var $debug = '0';
var $debug_lang = '0';
/* Database Settings */
var $dbtype = 'mysql';
var $host = 'xxxxxx';
var $user = 'xxxxxx';
var $password = 'xxxxxx';
var $db = 'xxxxxx';
var $dbprefix = 'jos_';
/* Server Settings */
var $live_site = '';
var $secret = 'eAPJLpXK0h4WcBK6';
var $gzip = '0';
var $error_reporting = '-1';
var $helpurl = 'http://help.joomla.org';
var $xmlrpc_server = '0';
var $ftp_host = '127.0.0.1';
var $ftp_port = '21';
var $ftp_user = '';
var $ftp_pass = '';
var $ftp_root = '';
var $ftp_enable = '0';
/* Locale Settings */
var $offset = '0';
var $offset_user = '0';
/* Mail Settings */
var $mailer = 'mail';
var $mailfrom = '[email protected]';
var $fromname = xxxxxx';
var $sendmail = '/usr/sbin/sendmail';
var $smtpauth = '0';
var $smtpuser = '';
var $smtppass = '';
var $smtphost = 'localhost';
/* Cache Settings */
var $caching = '0';
var $cachetime = '15';
var $cache_handler = 'file';
/* Meta Settings */
var $MetaDesc = 'Joomla! - the dynamic portal engine and content management system';
var $MetaKeys = 'joomla, Joomla';
var $MetaTitle = '1';
var $MetaAuthor = '1';
/* SEO Settings */
var $sef = '0';
var $sef_rewrite = '0';
var $sef_suffix = '0';
/* Feed Settings */
var $feed_limit = 10;
var $log_path = '/home/xxxxxx/wwwroot/logs';
var $tmp_path = '/home/xxxxxx/wwwroot/tmp';
/* Session Setting */
var $lifetime = '15';
var $session_handler = 'database';
}
?>

I appreciate any insight. Thanks in advance. :)

-Aaron, turbowebguy

Re: ERROR MESSAGE:Unable to load session storage class: database

Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:37 pm
by humvee
try adding your site URL into the var $live_site = "" ; variable.
check that the paths for /tmp and /logs are correct.
Please also run the Post Assistant to provide us with the full server details and we can then check that everything is running as it should.

Re: ERROR MESSAGE:Unable to load session storage class: database

Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:50 pm
by turbowebguy
Hi Humvee,

I tried adding the live_site variable, still didn't work (I tried all variations) too, but I ran phpinfo on the server, here's the link to the data with redacted info:

http://turbowebguy.com/phpinfo.php.html

-Aaron, turbowebguy

Re: ERROR MESSAGE:Unable to load session storage class: database

Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 10:15 pm
by humvee
1a)The tmp and log paths should start with the D: in configuration.php
1b) in addition one possible (and I stress the possible as it should not really be necessary) solution in respect of the tmp and log paths in configuration.php would be to replace the single forward slashes with double back slashes.
2)The recommendation from PHP is that the php.ini should not be placed in the Windows System directory but should be in the main PHP directory.
3)Not related but of importance, display_errors is set to on but as a security measure it is recommended to be set to off.

Give the above a try

Andy