Problem setting max upload file size limit

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
a1454
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Problem setting max upload file size limit

Post by a1454 » Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:07 pm

Hello:

I currently have Joomla installed on a website I'm creating for my company, and I have created a section for registered users to upload files, however, I need to set the maximum allowed upload size to 20mb, and that's where I got stuck.

I researched online and I know there is a line in the php.ini file that I need to edit, however, I CAN'T FIND this file anywhere on my web hosting server. So then I asked GoDaddy support, and they told me the the only way I can change this setting is by:

1. Enable "Shell Access" for the site.

2. Use something called vi or vim editor and edit that line with SSH Commands.

I'm totally lost after I read step 2, I barely know how to change directory in DOS and Unix command really just don't make any sense to me at all. I've tried to have GoDaddy's support to do this but they said since we have a virtual dedicated server, and joomla is a "third-party software" so they won't support me with this request besides providing me the above informations.

Can someone who understand how this is done give me a hint on how to do it?

Thanks!!

BYGino
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Problem setting max upload file size limit

Post by BYGino » Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:12 pm

You don't have to edit the php.ini file directly, you can add the following lines to the .htaccess in your site root:

Code: Select all

php_value upload_max_filesize 20m
php_value post_max_size 20m 
If you are having problems with timeouts you can use: