How to upload joomla site to server properly

Need help installing Joomla! 1.5? For all Joomla! 1.5 installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
warmer
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:31 am

How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby warmer » Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:00 am

I have completed my new joomla site offline in my PC. Now wanna upload this to my server.
Can i upload the folder directly to the server via FTP, or is there any changes need to be made to the site before uploading?

I used localhost as hostname during initial installation?
How can I change (details I entered during installation) these if needed?

User avatar
devilboy_1989
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: In Front of My Computer
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby devilboy_1989 » Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:05 am

1. Upload your newly created Joomla site to the server via FTP.
2. Create the MySql Database.
3. Edit the configuration.php file and set the newly created server database name, username, password correctly. U don't have to change the host name usually its "localhost" but if your server MySql is belong to a different IP u need to put that ip in the hostname.
4. upload/replace the configuration.php file.
5. Export your Local Joomla(PC) database (e.g using PhpMyadmin) and import the same in your Server Database.
Its all done......
Hope This Helps...
Devil Boy...
“Speak of The Devil and I Appears”

My Blog - http://www.rajputbrotherhood.com
Joomla - The Mighty CMS.

warmer
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:31 am

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby warmer » Mon Dec 22, 2008 2:13 pm

thanks. thats a lot of help...
I used PhpMyAdmin to extract the database file. But I cannot import it to the server. My site admin is configured by the Helm v4 Control panel. There are options to create new databases & users in MySQL. But cannot find a way to import databases to the server. Can u help me futher??

User avatar
devilboy_1989
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: In Front of My Computer
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby devilboy_1989 » Mon Dec 22, 2008 4:32 pm

Yes Of course I will hep you...
Download a Free Software Call "SqlYog" Google it. OKay

Using the above software you will able to import your database..its exactly work as phpMyadmin..

OR e-mail your web server space provider about the problem..They will give u a link to access phpMyadmin...

Hope this helps...
Thanks
“Speak of The Devil and I Appears”

My Blog - http://www.rajputbrotherhood.com
Joomla - The Mighty CMS.

warmer
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:31 am

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby warmer » Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:17 am

good help man... im working on it...

User avatar
Ghonjez
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8770
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 3:02 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby Ghonjez » Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:10 pm

Hi... warmer

For upload Joomla to Server reference, also you can visit :

http://www.dart-creations.com/............web-server.html

;) ;)

khan82
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:31 am

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby khan82 » Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:34 pm

Hello! i am using sqlyog but when i try to connect to the remote server its will give me the following Errors, any one can please help me

"Access denied. You need the SUPER/REPLICATION CLIENTprivilege for retrieving REPLICATION details!"

(This can be ignored if the MySQL server is not a REPLICATION slave or if you don't want to monitor REPLICATION.)


Uers does not seem to have PROCESS privileges on this host. Only user's process will be displayed.

fazlionline
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 9:10 am

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby fazlionline » Tue May 05, 2009 12:08 pm

when i installed Joomla
and made a site
should i upload all the folders or there is a specific folder to upload?

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9350
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby RussW » Tue May 05, 2009 12:43 pm

For the moment, seeing as you have not completed this task before, get shot of the MySQL software and stick with phpMyAdmin. You will need to make a new database first, assign a user, password and access rights to it. Then you import yur localhosts MySQL dump in to the new online DB.

Then you will need to modify the configuration.php DB Details to suit your new DB hostname (if different from localhost) and new DB name, new user and new password.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
Network SMARTS, Systems Engineering http://www.networksmarts.com.au/

vjtemplates
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 6:16 am
Location: LA
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby vjtemplates » Tue May 05, 2009 10:46 pm

Joomla Templates & VirtueMart Themes

http://www.vjtemplates.com

User avatar
jacoot
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:27 am

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby jacoot » Thu May 14, 2009 8:29 am

what about edited extensions ???

misyeldv
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:21 am

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby misyeldv » Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:00 am

Hi, I tried the step by step instructions I found in a Visual Guide pdf file (Which I think was very good) but when I got to the part where I'm suppose to import the database into the server, I got this error message:

Error

SQL query:

-- -- Dumping data for table `jos_banner` -- INSERT INTO `jos_banner` (`bid`, `cid`, `type`, `name`, `alias`, `imptotal`, `impmade`, `clicks`, `imageurl`, `clickurl`, `date`, `showBanner`, `checked_out`, `checked_out_time`, `editor`, `custombannercode`, `catid`, `description`, `sticky`, `ordering`, `publish_up`, `publish_down`, `tags`, `params`) VALUES (1, 1, 'banner', 'OSM 1', 'osm-1', 0, 43, 0, 'osmbanner1.png', 'http://www.opensourcematters.org', '2004-07-07 15:31:29', 1, 0, '0000-00-00 00:00:00', '', '', 13, '', 0, 1, '0000-00-00 00:00:00', '0000-00-00 00:00:00', '', ''), (2, 1, 'banner', 'OSM 2', 'osm-2', 0, 49, 0, 'osmbanner2.png', 'http://www.opensourcematters.org', '2004-07-07 15:31:29', 1, 0, '0000-00-00 00:00:00', '', '', 13, '', 0, 2, '0000-00-00 00:00:00', '0000-00-00 00:00:00', '', ''), (3, 1, '', 'Joomla!', 'joomla', 0, 19, 0, '', 'http://www.joomla.org', '2006-05-29 14:21:28', 1, 0, '0000-00-00 00:00:00', '', '{NAME}\r\n
\r[...]

MySQL said: Documentation
#1062 - Duplicate entry '1' for key 1

I have no idea what this means and have absolutely no idea how to solve this. PLEASE HELP! I would really really appreciate it. It looks so easy in the visual guide.

Obviously, I am very very new at all this and am completely relying on tutorials and guides I saw on the net. I have know idea at all about the inner workings of joomla, phpmyadmin, mysql etc. I hope someone can help me :)

User avatar
wernejo
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby wernejo » Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:22 am

hey guys,

i've just uploaded my site from my wamp server. everything is working just fine but i cannot install any new modules or components :(

this is the error i am getting when i try to install stuff



* JFolder::create: Could not create directory
* Warning! Failed to move file.



i used filezilla and place all my files into /www/htdocs/

this is the code from the configuration.php

var $log_path = '/var/www/vhost/site name.com.au/home/html/logs';
var $tmp_path = '/var/www/vhost/site name.com.au/home/html/tmp';


due to confidentiality of the client, i cant give out the website name until the site is finished sorry

is this right?
Last edited by wernejo on Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30768
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby Webdongle » Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:26 am

'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

User avatar
wernejo
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby wernejo » Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:30 am

how would that work? do i install that on one site, create a back up then install it on a new site and use it to upload the backup?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30768
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby Webdongle » Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:38 am

'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

User avatar
wernejo
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby wernejo » Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:22 am

if i did this backup, would i have to delete the files on my current site or would it just replace them?

User avatar
dpacadmin
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6021
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:46 pm
Location: the Bat Cave
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby dpacadmin » Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:00 am

In the admin backend check under Help/System Info then click on the Directory Permissions tab and make sure all you folders are writable. If just your tmp and logs folders are not then try uploading this file to your tmp folder and open it in your browser, it will display the correct path to your tmp folder.
path.zip


If the path you are using is the same but the folder is unwritable then try enabling the FTP Layer in the Joomla admin, it needs valid FTP connection info for the folder the Joomla site is installed in. It will allow the site to work even though the folders are unwritable by Joomla.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
wernejo
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby wernejo » Wed Mar 16, 2011 10:23 pm

thanks guys, that worked perfectly :D

User avatar
WinchesterLyon
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:15 pm
Location: Kingston, Jamaica

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby WinchesterLyon » Fri Mar 18, 2011 4:22 am

warmer wrote:thanks. thats a lot of help...
I used PhpMyAdmin to extract the database file. But I cannot import it to the server. My site admin is configured by the Helm v4 Control panel. There are options to create new databases & users in MySQL. But cannot find a way to import databases to the server. Can u help me futher??


By default php is set to 2MB upload and most likely your database dump is larger than 2MB. If your host offers you phpMyAdmin to use, chances are they are using the default php upload limit.

You can break up your sql file into smaller chunks (less than 2MB each) and import them one at a time. You can also dump groups of tables at a time from you local server using phpmyadmin.

If you look carefully in the sql file, you will see that theres an entry to create the table followed by the data to populate the tables. You should notice also that each set of table+data are separated. So you can copy each set of table+data to a separate sql file (depending on the amount of data to be entered in the table).

Also, the data for the Session table - jos_session.table - are not necessary. Those session data are from you surfing the pages on your local server. All you really need is the table to be created. The data will just bulk up the dumped sql files.
Best regards,
H. Winchester Lyon

amoooc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:17 pm

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby amoooc » Sat Mar 19, 2011 1:38 pm

devilboy_1989 wrote:1. Upload your newly created Joomla site to the server via FTP.
2. Create the MySql Database.
3. Edit the configuration.php file and set the newly created server database name, username, password correctly. U don't have to change the host name usually its "localhost" but if your server MySql is belong to a different IP u need to put that ip in the hostname.
4. upload/replace the configuration.php file.
5. Export your Local Joomla(PC) database (e.g using PhpMyadmin) and import the same in your Server Database.
Its all done......
Hope This Helps...
Devil Boy...


I'm working this way:

1. Joomla Installation on Localhost (ZEND Server CE for example, php 5.3
2. Extensions installation, code customization, creating template, translations etc.
3. When website is ready, I'm making backup using "Akeeba Backup"
4. Uploading backup archive to live server.
5. Unpacking and installation on live server php 5.2 using "Akeeba Kickstart.

Is this the right way or your way is better? Are there any contraindications in my method? during this kind of moving process nothing breaks in Joomla?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30768
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby Webdongle » Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:15 pm

@amoooc

Yes that's it
Just one small point
Kickstart unpacks the .jpa file and then the installer that was packed in the backup installs. So kickstart does not actually do the installing just the unpacking. But small definition.
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

amoooc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:17 pm

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby amoooc » Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:28 pm

You're right. So do you think that's better to use devilboy_1989 way or my way or maybe there is no different between?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 30768
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby Webdongle » Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:17 pm

Both are valid, my preference is Akeeba/kickstart because it rules out a lot of human error and I find it quicker. There are other backup extensions and some people prefer those.

It is not a matter of which is better it is a matter of personal choice.
'When I'm right nobody remembers when I'm wrong nobody forgets.'
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
www.weblinksonline.co.uk/tutorials/joom ... lhost.html

amoooc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:17 pm

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby amoooc » Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:26 pm

OK .Thank you for answer.

User avatar
dmwell
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:06 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby dmwell » Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:06 pm

vjtemplates wrote:Or try JoomlaPack extension.

http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... 06/details


Oh how very useful. Great many thanks
Man walks into a bar... ouch!

User avatar
enbees
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 860
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:58 am
Location: Jakarta - Indonesia
Contact:

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby enbees » Sat Jul 23, 2011 4:34 am

Agreed! Very useful
Regards,
enbees, I'm here: http://koperasoft.com

mloreto
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:35 am

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby mloreto » Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:18 pm

Hi everyone,

I have somewhat of a related issue. I also just installed a wamp server and transferred over an existing site. Had a few problems at first with the PHP version, but I got that taken care of. The reason I wanted this installed on a wamp server was so that I can upgrade the site to 1.7 from 1.5.1.0. I installed the jupgrade and the mootools upgrade plugin, but I can not get jupgrade to work. when I went to install it I got an error stating that the install.php file could not be located so I had to extract the zip file and copy the install.php file to where it was looking for it. I re-zipped the file and installed it. It seemed to work okay, but now I just can't get it to run. I did enable the mootools upgrade as instructed. I also tried to skip the check and the download of 1.7, but it still will do nothing. I am using IE as my default browser on the wamp server. I don't know if that has anything to do with it. Is there a way to change the default browser so I can try it with firefox? any ideas as to what might be going wrong with jupgrade? is there a different way to upgrade with out having to use jupgrade?

any help will be appreciated.

Thank you.

Miguel

blackkaky
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:35 am

Re: How to upload joomla site to server properly

Postby blackkaky » Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:37 am

Tập tin bình luận: Giải nén sau đó tải lên path.php
path.zip [177 Bytes]
tải về 6 lần

I downloaded the file, the error can not read, someone help me? :(


Return to “Installation 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests