Help Me! Installing Joomla on 1and1!

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
babycatface
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Help Me! Installing Joomla on 1and1!

Post by babycatface » Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:46 am

It's been 2 days that I'm trying to install Joomla on my 1and1 host server and I can't even get the installation Joomla page on my site, I've read every installation manual and most of the forums, even in French..

I've used Filezilla to transfert the files to my server, first time www.mysite.com/joomla and now strait to the root www.mysite.com. On the 1and1 control panel webspace explorer, the files are there but I'm not sure they're on the right place.

I've even uprade my package to Business as I didn't have mySQL before, I'm on Linux by the way.

Can somebody explain me step by step very slowly, because I think I'm very retarded...

Thanks alot

tastrax
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Help Me! Installing Joomla on 1and1!

Post by tastrax » Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:59 am

I just had a quick look at their website and it says that from control panel that you can "click and build" a website. Looks like Joomla is one of the sites you can build so give it a try in there rather than a manual load.
http://declarationoffreedom.com - Declaration of freedom - you are free..
http://www.kiva.org - Kiva - loans that change lives

Updated to 2.5.3

babycatface
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by babycatface » Sun Jan 18, 2009 12:05 pm