Change from Joomla 1.6 to Joomla 1.5

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
AbbyTan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Change from Joomla 1.6 to Joomla 1.5

Post by AbbyTan » Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:02 am

I had installed Joomla 1.6 but just realised that it doesn't support the tw_jungle template, whch I really like. (Guess I am a newbie and did not plan ahead for this :-[ )

My question is:

Now if I delete Joomla 1.6 from the ftp and install Joomla 1.5, will it upset all the earlier setting I had made for the SQL database? Or will I have to set My SQL database all over again?

Thank you in advance

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Change from Joomla 1.6 to Joomla 1.5

Post by imanickam » Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:18 am

AbbyTan wrote:if I delete Joomla 1.6 from the ftp and install Joomla 1.5, will it upset all the earlier setting I had made for the SQL database?
It is not clear about what settings you are talking about.

If you could create a new database then it is well and good. If it is a problem to create a new database, what you could do is to use the existing database itself. Since the Table Prefix would be different, new tables would be created in the same database.

Once you have tested the site, you could drop the tables created by Joomla! 1.6 from that database.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
Former Joomla! Translations Coordination Team Lead
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

AbbyTan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by AbbyTan » Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:37 pm