Migrating from Windows to Unix

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ayrehead
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Migrating from Windows to Unix

Post by ayrehead » Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:19 pm

I have Joomla 1.5.26 running on a Windows server at a host. Databse uses MySQL. I am considering migrating to Unix at the same host, as part of a plan to eventually upgrade to the latest Joomla release.

Is migrating from Windows to Unix possible?

Will it result in problems or caveats?

What is the procedure for migrating to Unix?

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Migrating from Windows to Unix

Post by imanickam » Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:22 pm

You could transfer your site developed in Joomla! to another host/location by the following ways.

(i) Use the extension Akeeba Backup Core (http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... ackup/1606) to backup your site including the database. You have to transfer the archive file created by Akeeba Backup Core to your remote host and use the kickstart.php script file (created by Akeeba Backup Core developers) to restore the site. Also, you would have a back-up permanently.

(ii) Use the manual process. Review the document http://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_copy_ ... te_host%3F for more information.

Note:
In both the cases, you have to create a new database on the remote host, create a user for the database, grant all privileges to the user for connecting to it.

Even though the document talks about moving the site from a localhost to a remote host, it is equally good to move the site from one location to another location.