FTP Layer - Hints

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

FTP Layer - Hints

Post by humvee » Wed Apr 23, 2008 5:02 pm

FTP Layer causes a lot of problems for a lot of people...

Remember the FTP Layer is applicable to Linux Server Users only and NOT Windows Users

Do not try enabling FTP Layer during installation if you experience any problems with it. It can be configured AFTER installation is complete by editing the configuration.php directly or via the Global Configuration in the Administrator Control Panel.

The FTP Layer in Joomla! is not broken, it does however, take quite a bit of configuration to correctly resolve it's ultimate functionality.

In my own situation these are the settings that worked (I happen to be on a 1&1 Business Package for this account)
var $ftp_enable = '1';
var $ftp_host = 'ftp.mydomainname.org';
var $ftp_port = '21';
var $ftp_user = 'a12345678';
var $ftp_pass = 'ABCDEfgaa.';
var $ftp_root = '/joomla_root';

THIS FORMAT WILL NOT WORK FOR EVERYONE IT DEPENDS ON HOW YOUR HOST HAS THINGS
CONFIGURED

ftp_host can be a numerical URL 127.0.0.1 is the default address for a locally hosted server, it might be this, it might be the full URL as my example above with the File Transfer Protocol (FTP) prefix, it might be the http:// protocol it might be SFTP (secure FTP) even secure http (https). It could also be a completely different setting that I have not thought of! Your host will be able to advise you on the correct format.

ftp_port is nearly always 21 unless the host has changed this they will have notified you of this. Secure FTP generally uses port 22.