Changing Admins and logging into an FTP server

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
RRGJames
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Changing Admins and logging into an FTP server

Post by RRGJames » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:16 pm

Hello Joomla!
So, I'm new to the whole website thing, and my boss gave me permissions to his website to change a bunch of stuff on it; long story short after 5 web people messed with it I can't change anything on it -at all- and I can't access the FTP to get change or update files. my account says admin, and there's SUPERADMIN that might be able to help that I also can't access, so what I need to do is have any other account on the website dismissed, and somehow magically retrieve the FTP password without having to bother my boss again because he gets angry and yells and fires people when we can't figure so and so out. so I'm desperately pleading for help. if anyone out there can help, please reply.

jcms
I've been banned!

Re: Changing Admins and logging into an FTP server

Post by jcms » Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:02 am

can you login Cpanel or phpmyadmin? then you can change the password of your user.

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by toivo » Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:37 am

what I need to do is have any other account on the website dismissed, and somehow magically retrieve the FTP password without having to bother my boss again
Proper passwords cannot be retrieved. The purpose of passwords is to provide security and being able to retrieve passwords would circumvent security. That is why passwords are encrypted. Joomla user passwords can be reset from the reset link, usually in the login form, if you have access to the mailbox of the user.