.htaccess or htaccess.txt

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
chuckles
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

.htaccess or htaccess.txt

Post by chuckles » Fri Jun 13, 2008 2:01 pm

Ok, I've been reading all over the place and can't find an answer to this question.

What is the difference between the htaccess.txt file which comes as standard with J! and the .htaccess file which you are supposed to rename it to under certain circumstances.

Should I always rename it to .htaccess? When should I keep it called htaccess.txt?

As I say I've read the security links I've seen around here and they mention .htaccess all the time, but there's nothing specific as to what situations to use either file

Thanks

brad
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: .htaccess or htaccess.txt

Post by brad » Fri Jun 13, 2008 2:05 pm

Rename htaccess.txt to .htaccess
This is the designed behavior.

BTW try using the Google search above.. I entered 'htaccess.txt' then I click on the documentation refinement tag and look what you have:

http://docs.joomla.org/Administration_FAQs
http://docs.joomla.org/Security_and_Performance_FAQs
http://docs.joomla.org/Screen.config.15

All the best.

doc_flake
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by doc_flake » Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:02 pm

One explanation in addition to Brad's documentation:
The file is only in effect if it has the name .htaccess (some special name that has nothing to do with J! at all). The htaccess.txt is something like a master copy to this file that may be changed or completed by experienced users before renaming it.