Cannot Find htaccess.txt

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
DejaV
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Cannot Find htaccess.txt

Post by DejaV » Tue Jul 01, 2008 5:59 pm

I am trying to change htaccess.txt to .htaccess, but I cannot find it. If it isn't in my root folder, where can I find it or how can I just create a .htaccess file?

browncar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Cannot Find htaccess.txt

Post by browncar » Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:51 pm

http://www.pathos-seo.com/joomla-seo-op ... files.html

I found this link for you with copys of the htaccess files for joomla.

I hope this helps ya
remember to edit it in a text editor and then upload it in ascii with your ftp program.

Cheers

DejaV
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by DejaV » Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:22 pm

Thanks!

browncar
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by browncar » Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:35 am

So did you get the .htaccess file up and running?

DejaV
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by DejaV » Thu Jul 03, 2008 3:35 pm

Yup! Thank you for your help!

KThackston
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by KThackston » Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:41 am

I must be an idiot because I have created, cut and paste every sample they have shown on the aforementioned link and i still cannot get my .htaccess page to work in the apache mod_rewrite mode.

If I turn off the Use Apache mod_rewrite, it will work as long as it has the index.php in it.
example: http://www.utopiaspanishproperty.com/in ... rence.html

But I want to get rid of the index.php that falls in the middle there. Any thoughts?