Relocating configuration.php another way

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
jacksun
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Relocating configuration.php another way

Post by jacksun » Sat Feb 20, 2010 11:03 pm

Ok, many may not agree with me as this involves editing 2 core files, but I prefer the protection it gives versus the redirect and it allows me to continue to make changes to the configuration.php file through my normal Joomla interface.

WARNING: Do not attempt this procedure unless you understand what you are doing and are willing to possibly break your site while testing. This is not for beginners or inexperienced persons, ensure you have a back up of your site before attempting.

1) Create a directory immediately above your public web directory (which is often public_html). I'll call this directory "configuration" all lower case, quotes aren't part of the directory name.
2) Place a copy of your current configuration.php file, completely unaltered and NOT renamed into this directory. I have permissions set at 644 on the file in this directory.
3) Go to the /includes directory in the root of your Joomla install and backup the file defines.php
4) Go to the /includes directory in the root of your Joomla install and open the file defines.php in your favorite editor
5) Around line 26 you will see this:

Code: Select all

define( 'JPATH_CONFIGURATION', 	JPATH_ROOT );

6) Replace it with this

define( 'JPATH_CONFIGURATION', 	JPATH_ROOT.DS.'..'.DS.'configuration' );