Hacked? Network Solutions Security Issues

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
PhilD
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Hacked? Network Solutions Security Issues

Post by PhilD » Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:50 pm

Disclaimer. This is not a wall of shame post, but relevant security information.

Think your having a bad day because your site was hacked? It may not be your fault. You can be part of the solution though by following the "safe route to disaster relief" in checklist 7 http://docs.joomla.org/Security_Checklist_7 and also making sure everything is updated properly.
Do not rely on restoring from backups made by your hosting service and do not rely on backups made recently by your own backup methods.

Network Solutions is a very large data center located in Texas. Many hosts have servers located there and may be subject to these attacks. So just because your hosted with "xyz hosting" does not mean you will not be affected.
Below is some information and links on the Network Solutions issues.

Network Solutions has acknowledged (second time in 2 weeks) that their servers have security issues (April, 19) and are working to fix them. The latest issues affect all sites including static sites not just Wordpress like the previous network solutions exploit did. Network Solutions initially blamed poor default permission settings in Wordpress installs for that attack. Network Solutions is now indicating the latest attack on their servers is at a deeper level and their attempts to restore hacked sites has on occasion resulted in restoring malicious code that was backed up.