admin pages hacked - Please help!!

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
mcg68
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

admin pages hacked - Please help!!

Post by mcg68 » Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:56 am

Hi,

We had a Joomla site designed for us a few tyears ago. The web designer has disappeared now and we have no idea what to do.

Our site has been hacked with the following symptoms....
: Today, we couldn't log in to the admin using the usual username and password.
: Looked at database using myPhp and saw a new user called admin2 so reset this password and logged in.
: When we log in, there is no admin page, just a page showing flags and a hackers logo or something. Looks pretty scary.
: In the database, all the users seem to be intact, but I can only log in with the admin2 user which takes me to some replacement page described above.

I have looked at the code in the index.php file and nothing looks like it is pointing to any other page, like redirects or anything. I am no expert in Joomla, PHP, web design or anything of that nature so could really use some help to get my admin page back so I can see if my content has vanished. I know there was a backup done a while ago but have no idea where it will be.

Any help would be great,
Thanks,
Michael
Last edited by mandville on Fri Jul 11, 2014 6:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: retitled to be more descriptive

mcg68
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Re: Please help!!

Post by mcg68 » Fri Jul 11, 2014 10:53 am

Update.... The main admin page is being replaced by an image, source "[removed kudos]"