The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security and Performance FAQs
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.



Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:24 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:09 am
Posts: 3
Hello,

Congratulations to the developper team as this 1.5 RC1 is doing great. I did a very easy and smooth migration from 1.5 Beta 2 to RC1. The interface is working perfectly, all the artefacts I've noticed has disappeared, the language (french !) works nicely and so on... I'm doing some intensive testing with a prototype site.

The only strong question : display is very slow. Both back and front. It seems that a lot of stuff is downloaded (Javascript ?). Much slower than 1.0.12 on the same server. Is this a "normal" situation for a Beta or RC state due to some extra debug code ? Or is this a side effect of the new technology ? A bad setup on my server ?... any idea ... any one else with the same ?

Thank you for any feedback or suggestions

Laurent


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 4:52 pm 
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 7:11 pm
Posts: 193
I noticed it seemed slower as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 1:45 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:57 am
Posts: 8
Location: Philippines
Hello lcollong and TWDesigns,

How did you migrate from 1.5beta to RC1? I made a school web site using 1.5beta and wanna migrate to RC1. What I did was to backup the Joomla directory in beta and copied the Rc1 files and directories to 1.5 beta so that I could still work on the web site that I develop. Is this correct?

I am still testing the RC1 as of the moment. Congratulations to the developer team!


thanks,

mykle


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:05 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:09 am
Posts: 3
Hi myklemanz

It is a minimalist site (standard template, no plugins) with several articles, users, customs menus...
Here are the steps I've followed (from a post on this site) :
  • Backup the root directory
    Delete all the files except configuration.php, htaccess.txt and robots.txt as well as "images" directory
    ftp of the joomla RC1 files on the site except install.php and the "installation" directory
    Did not touch the database

And that's it ! It works fine for me but I would not say it is a whatever "recommended" method !  ;) It's just the way I did.....

Good luck

Laurent


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:40 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am
Posts: 15753
Moderator note: moving from Development 1.5 to New J1.5 Forum Section

_________________
Regards Robin

http://www.linkedin.com/in/robinmuilwijk - http://twitter.com/i_robin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:07 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:09 am
Posts: 3
good idea to move this topic to the performance section !
the first post show this link : http://www.joomla.org/component/option, ... 105/p,374/ ... very very interesting

I switch from php 4 to Php 5 on my site and the performances grows up dramatically !

(for French user on OVH : you have to insert the following line in the .htaccess file in the joomla root : SetEnv PHP_VER 5)

This is closed so far for me. I'm going to do some tests with the extensions/modules/plugins

Again, congratulations to all the contributors

Laurent


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:36 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:06 pm
Posts: 764
Location: Netherlands
PHP 5.2 will double your performance on the Joomla! installation, see also the conclusions in http://www.joomla.org/component/option, ... 105/p,374/

If you can, switch to PHP 5.2+


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:14 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
Well, I have 1.5.0RC1 and 1.0.13 installed in mirror (on the same exact server, etc), and have only the sample data installed.  With that said, 1.5 seems to be about 20% to 50% slower...
1.0.13 has average load times of right about .08 seconds
1.5.0 has average load times of around .10 to .15 seconds...

Still fast, but definately slower...
(Lighttpd, php 5.2.2, MySQL 5.0.22)  No performance cache at this time (had APC installed until I found out it doesn't like FastCGI)...

Just wait for PageCache2.0... It's coming (and will be 1.5 ready!)...  Initial results are impressive....

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:19 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:06 pm
Posts: 764
Location: Netherlands
Just retry with cache enabled (and don't forget to enable the page cache plugin also). Curious what you get then...

(working on Linux/Windows/Mac?)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 9:03 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
willebil wrote:
Just retry with cache enabled (and don't forget to enable the page cache plugin also). Curious what you get then...

(working on Linux/Windows/Mac?)
Ya know... You gotta be kidding me... It's all good... I'm going to release my component anyway (it's more flexable)... is there a way of turning off the "page" caching feature, and just cache the content (like it is in 1.0)...

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 9:05 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:06 pm
Posts: 764
Location: Netherlands
If you disable the cache plugin you will have (very basic) caching. When I did my performance testing, you only gain very little by doing so.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 10:09 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
Alright, I'm still going ahead with my caching component, because it offers things that the core doesn't (like an API to reset the entire cache (or specific pages) when certain conditions are met (such as a comment added)...

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 7:18 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:06 pm
Posts: 764
Location: Netherlands
I am pretty sure the API provides it...but this is interesting, can you please PM me and see what your ideas on this area are, looks interesting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:59 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
You have PM... Now let's just wait and see...

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:29 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:06 pm
Posts: 764
Location: Netherlands
Responded, intersting what you state. Beside the individual commitment, feel free to continue the discussion here. Interesting to see what people are working on, and always happy to explain more on the 1.5 framework

edit: removed typo


Last edited by willebil on Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:51 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Posts: 1926
Location: New Jersey, USA
Once I get my new server up an running at home (I got a bad memory DIMM, being replaced under warranty), I'm going to do some more "real life" load tests of 1.5 and 1.0 (including server load, memory usage, scalability, etc)...  I'm really interested to see how both perform... BTW, I'm running CentOS 5 on a dual 2.4ghz XEON, 2gig RAM, SCSI U320 RAID 1 IBM server (for the previous numbers, and the new server is identical, except it's 6 u320 SCSI [drive] in RAID 5)

_________________
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:30 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:58 am
Posts: 788
Location: Australia
I did a FireFos tools->view speed report and for me it seems that the mootools.js is a big drag.

If one does not need all the javascript gizmos, can one NOT include this very large .js file?

_________________
My component http://coptic.pageshere.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group