RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security and Performance FAQs
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
lcollong
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:09 am

RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby lcollong » Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:24 am

Hello,

Congratulations to the developper team as this 1.5 RC1 is doing great. I did a very easy and smooth migration from 1.5 Beta 2 to RC1. The interface is working perfectly, all the artefacts I've noticed has disappeared, the language (french !) works nicely and so on... I'm doing some intensive testing with a prototype site.

The only strong question : display is very slow. Both back and front. It seems that a lot of stuff is downloaded (Javascript ?). Much slower than 1.0.12 on the same server. Is this a "normal" situation for a Beta or RC state due to some extra debug code ? Or is this a side effect of the new technology ? A bad setup on my server ?... any idea ... any one else with the same ?

Thank you for any feedback or suggestions

Laurent

TWDesigns
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 7:11 pm
Contact:

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby TWDesigns » Mon Jul 23, 2007 4:52 pm

I noticed it seemed slower as well.

User avatar
myklemanz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:57 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby myklemanz » Tue Jul 24, 2007 1:45 am

Hello lcollong and TWDesigns,

How did you migrate from 1.5beta to RC1? I made a school web site using 1.5beta and wanna migrate to RC1. What I did was to backup the Joomla directory in beta and copied the Rc1 files and directories to 1.5 beta so that I could still work on the web site that I develop. Is this correct?

I am still testing the RC1 as of the moment. Congratulations to the developer team!


thanks,

mykle

lcollong
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:09 am

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby lcollong » Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:05 am

Hi myklemanz

It is a minimalist site (standard template, no plugins) with several articles, users, customs menus...
Here are the steps I've followed (from a post on this site) :
  • Backup the root directory
    Delete all the files except configuration.php, htaccess.txt and robots.txt as well as "images" directory
    ftp of the joomla RC1 files on the site except install.php and the "installation" directory
    Did not touch the database

And that's it ! It works fine for me but I would not say it is a whatever "recommended" method !  ;) It's just the way I did.....

Good luck

Laurent

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby Robin » Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:40 am

Moderator note: moving from Development 1.5 to New J1.5 Forum Section

lcollong
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:09 am

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby lcollong » Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:07 am

good idea to move this topic to the performance section !
the first post show this link : http://www.joomla.org/component/option, ... 105/p,374/ ... very very interesting

I switch from php 4 to Php 5 on my site and the performances grows up dramatically !

(for French user on OVH : you have to insert the following line in the .htaccess file in the joomla root : SetEnv PHP_VER 5)

This is closed so far for me. I'm going to do some tests with the extensions/modules/plugins

Again, congratulations to all the contributors

Laurent

User avatar
willebil
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 764
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:06 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby willebil » Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:36 am

PHP 5.2 will double your performance on the Joomla! installation, see also the conclusions in http://www.joomla.org/component/option, ... 105/p,374/

If you can, switch to PHP 5.2+

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby ircmaxell » Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:14 pm

Well, I have 1.5.0RC1 and 1.0.13 installed in mirror (on the same exact server, etc), and have only the sample data installed.  With that said, 1.5 seems to be about 20% to 50% slower...
1.0.13 has average load times of right about .08 seconds
1.5.0 has average load times of around .10 to .15 seconds...

Still fast, but definately slower...
(Lighttpd, php 5.2.2, MySQL 5.0.22)  No performance cache at this time (had APC installed until I found out it doesn't like FastCGI)...

Just wait for PageCache2.0... It's coming (and will be 1.5 ready!)...  Initial results are impressive....
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
willebil
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 764
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:06 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby willebil » Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:19 pm

Just retry with cache enabled (and don't forget to enable the page cache plugin also). Curious what you get then...

(working on Linux/Windows/Mac?)

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby ircmaxell » Thu Aug 02, 2007 9:03 pm

willebil wrote:Just retry with cache enabled (and don't forget to enable the page cache plugin also). Curious what you get then...

(working on Linux/Windows/Mac?)
Ya know... You gotta be kidding me... It's all good... I'm going to release my component anyway (it's more flexable)... is there a way of turning off the "page" caching feature, and just cache the content (like it is in 1.0)...
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
willebil
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 764
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:06 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby willebil » Thu Aug 02, 2007 9:05 pm

If you disable the cache plugin you will have (very basic) caching. When I did my performance testing, you only gain very little by doing so.

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby ircmaxell » Thu Aug 02, 2007 10:09 pm

Alright, I'm still going ahead with my caching component, because it offers things that the core doesn't (like an API to reset the entire cache (or specific pages) when certain conditions are met (such as a comment added)...
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
willebil
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 764
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:06 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby willebil » Fri Aug 03, 2007 7:18 am

I am pretty sure the API provides it...but this is interesting, can you please PM me and see what your ideas on this area are, looks interesting.

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby ircmaxell » Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:59 pm

You have PM... Now let's just wait and see...
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
willebil
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 764
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:06 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby willebil » Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:29 pm

Responded, intersting what you state. Beside the individual commitment, feel free to continue the discussion here. Interesting to see what people are working on, and always happy to explain more on the 1.5 framework

edit: removed typo
Last edited by willebil on Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ircmaxell
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1926
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 3:10 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby ircmaxell » Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:51 pm

Once I get my new server up an running at home (I got a bad memory DIMM, being replaced under warranty), I'm going to do some more "real life" load tests of 1.5 and 1.0 (including server load, memory usage, scalability, etc)...  I'm really interested to see how both perform... BTW, I'm running CentOS 5 on a dual 2.4ghz XEON, 2gig RAM, SCSI U320 RAID 1 IBM server (for the previous numbers, and the new server is identical, except it's 6 u320 SCSI drives in RAID 5)
Anthony Ferrara - Core Team - Development Coordinator - Bug Squad - JSST

http://moovum.com/ - The Bird is in the air! Get Mollom Anti-Spam on your Joomla! website with Moovur...
http://www.joomlaperformance.com For All Your Joomla Performance Needs

User avatar
Chris
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 796
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: RC1 is going great. Is slow display a normal stage ?

Postby Chris » Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:30 am

I did a FireFos tools->view speed report and for me it seems that the mootools.js is a big drag.

If one does not need all the javascript gizmos, can one NOT include this very large .js file?
There is no failure until you give up.

Chris


Return to “Performance - Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests