The Joomla! Forum ™



Forum rules


Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 70 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:45 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:54 am
Posts: 91
Location: Ireland
How do i remove the bit on the bottom of my website that says "Powered by Joomla!. Valid XHTML and CSS."

This also comes up when i have the "Footer" published on the website. Then i have an extra copyright that says "Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License."

I have used the search engine to find an answer but i could only find an answer for Joomla 1.0

I have Joomla 1.5

I would like to remove this to make the website mine. And i have looked this up and it is OK to do this so that visitors don't have to see these links.

Thank you,
John.

_________________
Compute for science and for a better world!
www.unitedboinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 7:54 pm 
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 2855
Location: Salisbury, NC/USA (N. of Charlotte)
Go to the core files >> Languages >> en-GB.mod_footer.ini || modify it there.

FOOTER=Footer
FOOTER_LINE1=Copyright &#169; %date% %sitename%. All Rights Reserved.
FOOTER_LINE2=<a href="http://www.joomla.org">Joomla!</a> is Free Software released under the <a href="http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html">GNU/GPL License.</a>
MOD_FOOTER=<em>mod_footer</em>
THIS MODULE SHOWS THE JOOMLA! COPYRIGHT INFORMATION=This Module shows the Joomla! Copyright information

OR, another way to do it is:

Go to yourtemplate/index.php >> bottom of page || change it there.

<p id="power_by">
<?php echo JText::_('Powered by') ?> <a href="http://www.joomla.org">Joomla!</a>.
<?php echo JText::_('Valid') ?> <a href="http://validator.w3.org/check/referer">XHTML</a> <?php echo JText::_('and') ?> <a href="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/check/referer">CSS</a>
</p>

Did that answer your questions?

_________________
http://www.200mphMedia.net
Author: Joomla 1.6 Picture Yourself Series book @ Amazon.com
Book also covers Version 1.7, 2.5, which had no notable/major user-side changes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 8:33 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:54 am
Posts: 91
Location: Ireland
Herb,
Thank you for that explaination, this worked very well.

You explained exactly what to do and how to do it, so you took the hard work out of it.

I came here the day this forum was being changed for phpBB3 and i used the search engine and "Cached Google" pages to look for an answer. I was at this for several hours. You got it fixed for me in 5 minutes.

Just for anyone else that finds this info on a forum search, Herb's second fix for the template index page will need to be done for each template you use on your website.

Thank you Herb,
John.

_________________
Compute for science and for a better world!
www.unitedboinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:39 pm 
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 2855
Location: Salisbury, NC/USA (N. of Charlotte)
You are, indeed, WELCOME!

_________________
http://www.200mphMedia.net
Author: Joomla 1.6 Picture Yourself Series book @ Amazon.com
Book also covers Version 1.7, 2.5, which had no notable/major user-side changes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:29 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 8
Hi,
is there also a nice way to overwrite the footer line 1 and 2?

I tried to overwrite it as part of a language file, but it seems not possible to overwrite a en-GB.mod_footer.ini. Is there an other way?

I don't want to update the original file. Also I should have a multi-language solution.

Regards
Dieter


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 12:07 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:54 am
Posts: 91
Location: Ireland
Hi Dieter,
I'm definitely not an expert but you should be able to edit the file "en-GB.mod_footer.ini". If you cannot edit the file, maybe your permissions for the file are set too high.

My permissions for editing this file are set to 644

Also just a guess but there must be a very similar file with a similar name for other languages.

Hope that helps.
John.

_________________
Compute for science and for a better world!
www.unitedboinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 7:29 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 8
John,
that's what I not want. When I edit it, each JOOMLA update may replace my modifications. There must me an option to overwrite. If that is not possible, there is maybe a change in JOOMLA necessary.

Luke


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:11 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:54 am
Posts: 91
Location: Ireland
Luke,
I understand what you are saying but i don't think Joomla will remove the copyright info from all their software. Its written by the Joomla team and they have the right to keep the copyright info in the code. I agree with this!

Yes, you are right that when you update to the next version you will loose your changes. But that would mean never making any changes to the basic look of your website.

This is my suggestion to you, and this is what i will be doing.

Keep a special folder on your PC with a copy of all the modifications you make. Then when you update to the next Joomla, you can just replace the mod files you have changed.

I think this is as good as you are going to get. The other option Luke is to spend a lot of time here on this forum and see if you can get the developers of Joomla to add something into the code so you can "Tick the box" in your preferences to remove the Joomla copyright statement. This would be the ideal way but i don't have the time to follow up on this development.

John.

_________________
Compute for science and for a better world!
www.unitedboinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 7:40 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 8
John,
a footer should show the copyright of the content. It shows already the site name, but I have to change the date from (c) 2008 sitename to (c) 2007, 2008 sitename.

I also think to provide a flexible footer would help many installations! All need a copyright, but slide changes are sometimes necessary.

So I think a more flexible footer would be usefull for the whole community. Please let me know who I have to talk to, to get the changes into JOOMLA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:40 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:54 am
Posts: 91
Location: Ireland
I agree with you 100%, this should be just a simple matter of entering a few details and clicking save.

I am struggling just to learn how to use Joomla

If you want to follow this up, go the the forum index and there is a complete section dedicated to developing Joomla. You could post your suggestion there maybe. I'm new here Too :D

John

_________________
Compute for science and for a better world!
www.unitedboinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:47 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 8
Hi All,
here how you can modify the footer, without modifying the language files.

add the following default.php in your <template name>/html/mod_footer directory and install the template. Then you get only the first footer line, the copyright line (I wanted to see 2 years, but that requires a change in the core footer). Additional html text is also possible, or replace it wit your text.

---->default.php start<-----

<?php // no direct access
defined('_JEXEC') or die('Restricted access'); ?>
<div><?php echo JText::_($lineone); ?></div>

----->default.php end<-------

btw, here the original file:

---->default.php start<-----

<?php // no direct access
defined('_JEXEC') or die('Restricted access'); ?>
<div><?php echo $lineone; ?></div>
<div><?php echo JText::_( 'FOOTER_LINE2' ); ?></div>

----->default.php end<-------


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:30 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:44 pm
Posts: 9
herb200mph wrote:
Go to the core files >> Languages >> en-GB.mod_footer.ini || modify it there.

FOOTER=Footer
FOOTER_LINE1=Copyright &#169; %date% %sitename%. All Rights Reserved.
FOOTER_LINE2=<a href="http://www.joomla.org">Joomla!</a> is Free Software released under the <a href="http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html">GNU/GPL License.</a>
MOD_FOOTER=<em>mod_footer</em>
THIS MODULE SHOWS THE JOOMLA! COPYRIGHT INFORMATION=This Module shows the Joomla! Copyright information


Three quick questions:
Do I completely delete the FOOTER_LINE2 line, or do I set it as "FOOTER_LINE2=" ?

What does "MOD_FOOTER=<em>mod_footer</em>" do? Can it and the line underneath be deleted?

I installed some pre 1.5 templates using Legacy, but some of their positioned items are misaligned. For example, the "The Community" menu item shows each word on a separate line, with word Community overlapping onto the main photo. I'm brand-spanking new to Joomla and don't have a clue as to how to fix the positioning although I'm fairly handy with CSS and HTML. Should I just not use pre 1.5 templates, or can the misalignments be easily fixed? I'm finding it frustrating that so much of the HTML is cloaked behind PHP constructs. Any help appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:46 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:03 pm
Posts: 1388
Location: San Jose, California
Or you could not use mod_footer and just use a custom module with whatever text you want in it :) Then you don't have to worry about updates overwriting anything, you don't have to edit files and its easy to manage/change :)

- Louis

_________________
Joomla Platform Maintainer
A hacker does for love what others would not do for money.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:55 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:54 am
Posts: 91
Location: Ireland
This is what i done, i kept most of the code and just made it stuff to do with my website
----------------------------------------
FOOTER=Footer
FOOTER_LINE1=Copyright &#169; %date% %sitename%. All Rights Reserved.
FOOTER_LINE2=www.MyWebSite.com
MOD_FOOTER=<em>mod_footer</em>
THIS MODULE SHOWS THE MyWebsite.COM COPYRIGHT INFORMATION=This Module shows the MyWebsite.COM Copyright information
-------------------------------

I can't help you with your other questions

John.

_________________
Compute for science and for a better world!
www.unitedboinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 5:17 pm 
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 2855
Location: Salisbury, NC/USA (N. of Charlotte)
You can always just wipe out the default stuff and insert a <div><table>...content area at that location.

Might be the easiest way to do it.

_________________
http://www.200mphMedia.net
Author: Joomla 1.6 Picture Yourself Series book @ Amazon.com
Book also covers Version 1.7, 2.5, which had no notable/major user-side changes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 6:49 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 8
John,
why do you not overwrite with default.php. The following default.php should work for you:

---->default.php start<-----

<?php // no direct access
defined('_JEXEC') or die('Restricted access'); ?>
<div><?php echo JText::_($lineone); ?></div>
<div>www.MyWebSite.com</div>

----->default.php end<----
and no over of the language file is necessary

Luke


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:24 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:44 pm
Posts: 9
I want to thank everyone for the prompt replies. I could not locate the default.php file, where is it? I'm assuming the poster isn't talking about the index.php file.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:10 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 8
I did the overwrite as part of the template.

Install the default.php as part of you template in: <template name>/html/mod_footer/

Then add the following line in: templateDetails.xml
<filename>html/mod_footer/default.php</filename>
as part of: <files>

Thats it, and no modification of the language file is necessary
Luke


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:50 am 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
There is absolutely no need to modify any core files to remover the footer.

If you are using a 1.0 template it is possible that the powered by is hard coded in your template html file. Simply edit that.

More likely is that you are seeing the footer module. SImply go to the module manager and unenable it.


As Louis already pointed out, If you want a custom footer module, the simplest thing is to go to the module manager and create a custom html module with whatever you want in it.

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:30 pm 
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:16 am
Posts: 80
I am using joomla 1.3 and i want to change the copyright on my site but after the reading the forums and knowing that this is the route <template name>/html/mod_footer/ to change the ntoice, i cannot find this on my control panel. Can anyone help me to locate it please

_________________
Go to our new section and put a free link to your website by asking people to review your site and gain traffic http://www.in2town.co.uk/List-forums/Th ... Forum.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:18 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 8
You have to define in your template directory a directory /html and in /html adirectory a /mod_footer directory. And there you have to store the default.php.

as sample you have to use the: /module/mod_footer/tmpl/default.php

See the beez template, they use this technique to overwrite other module defaults


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:23 pm 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:44 pm
Posts: 9
mcsmom wrote:
There is absolutely no need to modify any core files to remover the footer.

If you are using a 1.0 template it is possible that the powered by is hard coded in your template html file. Simply edit that.

More likely is that you are seeing the footer module. SImply go to the module manager and unenable it.


I could not disable a 1.1 template footer from the 1.5 module manager. Looks like there are several approaches to deleting the footer. Deleting it via the Language folder gave me the best result because it retained the bottom-padding after the contents were deleted. I won't bother changing default.php but it's nice to know I have so many options.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:26 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:39 pm
Posts: 26
Location: USA, California
I am dumbfounded! Using joomla 1.5.1 with the rhuk_milkyway template default.
I have tried every option listed here and none have changed the footer text. the only one that works is the disable the footer module but I want my company info to show in the footer.
I have edited the following files and the original "Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License." reference is still showing.
Created a folder mod_footer with a default.php file inside containing the code:

<?php // no direct access
defined('_JEXEC') or die('Restricted access'); ?>
<div><?php echo JText::_($lineone); ?></div>

The mod_footer folder was placed in the html folder of the template I am using, rhuk_milkyway, which is the default template.

Modified - libraries/joomla/version.php

Also tried core files >> Languages >> en-GB.mod_footer.ini

_________________
Thanks!!

Steve


Last edited by sherrick on Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:40 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:39 pm
Posts: 26
Location: USA, California
DieterW wrote:
John,
why do you not overwrite with default.php. The following default.php should work for you:

---->default.php start<-----

<?php // no direct access
defined('_JEXEC') or die('Restricted access'); ?>
<div><?php echo JText::_($lineone); ?></div>
<div>www.MyWebSite.com</div>

----->default.php end<----
and no over of the language file is necessary

Luke


I also tried this option but wanted to ask where this file should be located so it will work.
I placed it in rhuk_milkyway/html/mod_footer

_________________
Thanks!!

Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:08 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:54 am
Posts: 91
Location: Ireland
sherrick,
You sound like you want to do exactly what i wanted to do. Keep the copyright but just change the words so its your words in the copyright. I suggest you do this;

Go to the core files >> Languages >> en-GB.mod_footer.ini || modify it there.

Find this;
-----------------------
FOOTER=Footer
FOOTER_LINE1=Copyright &#169; %date% %sitename%. All Rights Reserved.
FOOTER_LINE2=<a href="http://www.joomla.org">Joomla!</a> is Free Software released under the <a href="http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html">GNU/GPL License.</a>
MOD_FOOTER=<em>mod_footer</em>
THIS MODULE SHOWS THE JOOMLA! COPYRIGHT INFORMATION=This Module shows the Joomla! Copyright information
-------------------------------
Replace it with this, or your website copyright info
---------------------------------------------------
FOOTER=Footer
FOOTER_LINE1=Copyright &#169; %date% %sitename%. All Rights Reserved.
FOOTER_LINE2=www.MyWebSite.com
MOD_FOOTER=<em>mod_footer</em>
THIS MODULE SHOWS THE MyWebsite.COM COPYRIGHT INFORMATION=This Module shows the MyWebsite.COM Copyright information
---------------------------------

This worked fine for me!

John.

_________________
Compute for science and for a better world!
www.unitedboinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:48 am 
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:02 am
Posts: 8
Just a heads up to anyone else who finds this thread from searching on how to change the wording in the footer.

As previously stated, there appear to be several ways to do it, and I see several different people suggesting different ways are better/shouldn't need to be done, etc. Obviously, this process should be a whole lot easier, as the whole idea for a CMS is that it be "plug-n-play" and easy for n00bs to set up...but that's a post for the feature requests forum...

What I found is *if* you choose the method if editing the language file /language/en-GB/en-GB.mod_footer.ini (edit FOOTER_LINE1 and FOOTER_LINE2), links will only work if they are absolute path (as opposed to relative). At least *I* found this to be so, on my server. If the links aren't working, it's something to check.

When I tried to add footer links, the output is simply "array." I know it's an array...what I wanted was links :)
I've decided to try Louis' suggestion and create a custom module. Failing that, I'll hard-code the links in the template.

EDIT: Ummmm...now I feel foolish. I had no idea how EASY creating a module would be. Works beautifully....thank you Louis, for the suggestion (even though it was towards the OP, it helped me as well).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 3:08 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 7:19 pm
Posts: 2
I can easily deactivate the footer in 1.5
But doesn't all this conflict with this FAQ?
*- If it does, why does the program readily allows the deactivation of the footer module?
*- If it does, Is there a way to purchase the right to remove the reference to joomla?

Thank you in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 6:35 pm 
User avatar
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:43 pm
Posts: 7986
Location: New York
I don't understand the question.

The FAQ clearly says you do not need to display Powered by Joomla! or anything else. You can also change the meta information in your global configuration.

What you can not do is remove the license and copyright information in source files; this information is never directly displayed to end users.

_________________
So we must fix our vision not merely on the negative expulsion of war, but upon the positive affirmation of peace. MLK 1964.
http://officialjoomlabook.com Get it at http://www.joomla.org/joomla-press-official-books.html Buy a book, support Joomla!.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 7:38 pm 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 7:19 pm
Posts: 2
Hi mcsmom,
Thank you for the reply. You are correct, technically there is no conflict. However it seemed to me that there was a conflict with the spirit of the rule described in the FAQ.
I will happily accept your point of view.
BTW joomla is a fantastic software.

Thanks again


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:52 am 
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:45 am
Posts: 4
hello
i using Joomla_1.0.13and i want remove any copy right please help me


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 70 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group