Trying to make nested menus

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Tankred
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Trying to make nested menus

Post by Tankred » Sat Mar 14, 2009 8:00 pm

I work for a non-profit and I am the administrator/webmaster for us and I have decided to switch our current website over to Joomla because it is free ;-) and it is easy to administer on the back end.

I am using the Milky Way template that came with 1.5 and I am trying to find a way to implement nesting menus with the template to work. I already have modified the template to suit our purposes and this is the last thing I need to do before adding content to the site.

Here is the menu structure I would like to have. All of these menus are under Home.
- About Us
Nested links under "About Us":
- Mission and Vision
- Staff and Board
- Affiliations
- Funding

- Reviews
Nested links under "Reviews":
- Reviews
- Other feedback
- Give us feedback

- Schedule and Tickets
Nested links under "Schedule and Tickets":
- Season Schedule
- Purchase tickets
- Ask about schedule

- Support Us
Nested links under "Support Us":
- Make a donation
- Volunteer (ideally, we'd bring up a list of fields with name, contact info, and types of things people might be interested in volunteering to do)
- Food Lion Shop and Share
- Community support
- Ask about support

- Join Us
Nested links under "Join Us":
- Frequently asked questions
- Member comments
- Ask about joining

- Photo Gallery (no sub-links)

- Links (no sub-links)

- Member portal (no sub-links)

How do I make this menu structure? Do I need to make an atricle page BEFORE I make the menu structure? How do I link the menu to the page that is should go to.

Thanks for any help as I am really trying to get this done so the President of our chorus will stop BUGGING me about it! :p