Page 1 of 3

Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:12 am
by yasirjamal
Hi friends,

I am getting problem in IE8. I am using defalut template ja-purity when i open my site on firefox, IE7, IE6, its perfectly ok. But when i open my site on IE8 then my top logo section, top menu, and at the down the latest news section aligning on left i am using 780 width my website is in center. Can any tell me how to compitable my site on IE8.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:05 pm
by Support-Freak
I found a solution for my site and it seems to work fine. Edit your html template as shown below. Remove the gte from the top of the html exactly as below.

<!--[if gte IE 7.0]>

change to-

<!--[if IE 7.0]>

and it should render fine in ie8

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:12 pm
by aac11
This worked for me too! Thanks.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 2:29 pm
by BjornLu
whohoo, tnx.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 6:03 pm
by helpme_vic
Hi guys, question, My site doesn't show up at all in IE8 and it was working fine in IE6.

www.justkeeponworking.com

Using latest version of Joomla 1.5

Any help?
tks.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 11:21 pm
by diarmait
I tried the fix suggested by Support-Freak, but IE8 is still rendering incorrectly.

Here's the site: http://www.nevadarighttolife.org/

Any suggestions?

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Wed May 27, 2009 5:00 am
by jwwicks
Hello Support-Freak,
Support-Freak wrote:I found a solution for my site and it seems to work fine. Edit your html template as shown below. Remove the gte from the top of the html exactly as below.

<!--[if gte IE 7.0]>

change to-

<!--[if IE 7.0]>

and it should render fine in ie8
This should work fine but if the user sets IE8 to compatibility mode then they'll match as IE7 even though IE8 is better. I added the following to my fix in ja_templatetools.php starting at line 223...

Code: Select all

        else if ( strpos($agent, 'MSIE') && !preg_match('/opera/i',$agent) && !preg_match('/trident\/(4\.[0-9])/i',$agent))
        {
             $msie='/msie\s(7\.[0-9]).*(win)/i';
                if (preg_match($msie,$agent)) $browser = 'IE7';
                else $browser = 'IE6';
        }
        else if ( preg_match('/trident\/(4\.[0-9])/i',$agent) )
        {
            $browser = 'IE8';
        } 
I'm scouring the template code to see if there are any other issues with IE8... I'll post em as I find them

Jw

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:36 pm
by frankzusa
oh nice thanks!

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 12:40 am
by MarkDijkstra
Dont use IE ;)


greetz

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:26 pm
by John37309
Support-Freak wrote:I found a solution for my site and it seems to work fine. Edit your html template as shown below. Remove the gte from the top of the html exactly as below.

<!--[if gte IE 7.0]>

change to-

<!--[if IE 7.0]>

and it should render fine in ie8
Support-Freak,
Thank you, thank you, thank you!

I have been sweating buckets since i upgraded to IE8 last night and all my websites were broken. All my sites have a phpbb forum in an iframe wrapper inside Joomla 1.5 with JA Purity template. When viewed with IE8, the iframe wrapper appears about a quater of the width of the page, even though the iframe wrapper width is set to 100%. The forums were un-readable in IE8. Now its fixed!

This fix was very quick and it works perfect. Just to clarify for other people reading this, You edit;
yourdomain.com/templates/ja_purity/index.php

I was searching Google for Bill Gate's email address so i could give him a peice of my mind with his new security checks in IE8 :-\

Thanks for the fix guys! ;)

John.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 2:11 am
by infinitelinx
OMG OMG OMG THANK YOU! YOU'RE BRILLIANT!!!! IT WORKED LIKE A CHARM THANK YOU!!!

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:46 pm
by junsve
Unfortunateley the described fix created problems for my JCE Editor 1.5 when using IE7. When editing an article the page had errors and the article could not be saved.

/Sven

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:24 am
by orly1777
Hello. I deleted "gte", but my site (http://graficosur.com) still can't be viewed in any version of IE. Please help me. Thanks.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:13 pm
by FaShUnPhOtOg
orly1777,

I just tried your site and it comes up fine in IE8 here stateside.

Ciao

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:00 pm
by orly1777
Thanks a lot. I can't view my site in IE6 and IE7. I can't view any templates. I have found out that I have a global configuration problem. I renamed the file htaccess and the icon appeared suddently. I think that I have to make some changes on this file. I am working on it now. Please help me if you find the answer. Thanks a lot.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:05 am
by orly1777
Hello. I really think that the problem is in the .htaccess file. I can't view my site neither in the localhost nor in the web server (http://graficosur.com). I think that I have to make a change to one of the comments in that file. I also think that the problem is related to Apache modSecurity settings. Please help me. This is the contents of the htaccess.htaccess file:

##
# @version $Id: htaccess.txt 10492 2008-07-02 06:38:28Z ircmaxell $
# @package Joomla
# @copyright Copyright (C) 2005 - 2008 Open Source Matters. All rights reserved.
# @license http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html GNU/GPL
# Joomla! is Free Software
##


#####################################################
# READ THIS COMPLETELY IF YOU CHOOSE TO USE THIS FILE
#
# The line just below this section: 'Options +FollowSymLinks' may cause problems
# with some server configurations. It is required for use of mod_rewrite, but may already
# be set by your server administrator in a way that dissallows changing it in
# your .htaccess file. If using it causes your server to error out, comment it out (add # to
# beginning of line), reload your site in your browser and test your sef url's. If they work,
# it has been set by your server administrator and you do not need it set here.
#
#####################################################

## Can be commented out if causes errors, see notes above.
Options +FollowSymLinks

#
# mod_rewrite in use

RewriteEngine On

########## Begin - Rewrite rules to block out some common exploits
## If you experience problems on your site block out the operations listed below
## This attempts to block the most common type of exploit `attempts` to Joomla!
#
# Block out any script trying to set a mosConfig value through the URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} mosConfig_[a-zA-Z_]{1,21}(=|\%3D) [OR]
# Block out any script trying to base64_encode crap to send via URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} base64_encode.*\(.*\) [OR]
# Block out any script that includes a <script> tag in URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} (\<|%3C).*script.*(\>|%3E) [NC,OR]
# Block out any script trying to set a PHP GLOBALS variable via URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} GLOBALS(=|\[|\%[0-9A-Z]{0,2}) [OR]
# Block out any script trying to modify a _REQUEST variable via URL
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} _REQUEST(=|\[|\%[0-9A-Z]{0,2})
# Send all blocked request to homepage with 403 Forbidden error!
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ index.php [F,L]
#
########## End - Rewrite rules to block out some common exploits

# Uncomment following line if your webserver's URL
# is not directly related to physical file paths.
# Update Your Joomla! Directory (just / for root)

# RewriteBase /


########## Begin - Joomla! core SEF Section
#
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/index.php
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} (/|\.php|\.html|\.htm|\.feed|\.pdf|\.raw|/[^.]*)$ [NC]
RewriteRule (.*) index.php
RewriteRule .* - [E=HTTP_AUTHORIZATION:%{HTTP:Authorization},L]
#
########## End - Joomla! core SEF Section

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:08 am
by orly1777
Hello. I renamed the "htaccess.htaccess" file to ".htaccess" and my site can be viewed in Mozilla Firefox, but it still can't be viewed on Internet 5, 6 and 7. By the way, I am using Reactor Server on my localhost. Thanks. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 11:46 am
by orly1777
Hello. I have solved the problem re-installing Joomla Spanish, using version 1.5.13 this time. I was using version 1.5.14. Now everything is fine. Thanks.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:59 am
by orly1777
Hello. After I re-installed Joomla again, I had the same problem. The problem was that I was breaking a simple rule: not to paste formatted text. Now everything is fine. Thanks.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:30 pm
by faithworks
Hello Jwwicks,

I would prefer adding your code to fix the problem, in case our viewers are still using IE7, but it didn't work for me. I tried adding it as you suggested at line 445 (my code is double spaced, so it wouldn't start at line 223). I tried editing the current code at line 445 to look like your code. I tried adding portions of your code to the current code at line 445. None of these ways worked for me. Any ideas?

Until then, I'm using the

change to-

<!--[if IE 7.0]>

Thanks!!!
Ben
jwwicks wrote:Hello Support-Freak,
Support-Freak wrote:I found a solution for my site and it seems to work fine. Edit your html template as shown below. Remove the gte from the top of the html exactly as below.

<!--[if gte IE 7.0]>

change to-

<!--[if IE 7.0]>

and it should render fine in ie8
This should work fine but if the user sets IE8 to compatibility mode then they'll match as IE7 even though IE8 is better. I added the following to my fix in ja_templatetools.php starting at line 223...

Code: Select all

        else if ( strpos($agent, 'MSIE') && !preg_match('/opera/i',$agent) && !preg_match('/trident\/(4\.[0-9])/i',$agent))
        {
             $msie='/msie\s(7\.[0-9]).*(win)/i';
                if (preg_match($msie,$agent)) $browser = 'IE7';
                else $browser = 'IE6';
        }
        else if ( preg_match('/trident\/(4\.[0-9])/i',$agent) )
        {
            $browser = 'IE8';
        } 
I'm scouring the template code to see if there are any other issues with IE8... I'll post em as I find them

Jw

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:45 pm
by em130303
removing GTE from index.php of Ja Purity theme works! thank you very much!

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:40 pm
by jwwicks
Hello Ben,
faithworks wrote:Hello Jwwicks,

I would prefer adding your code to fix the problem, in case our viewers are still using IE7, but it
...
change to-
<!--[if IE 7.0]>

Thanks!!!
Ben
My fix to the code isn't really stand alone, it's meant to work in conjunction with the IE Conditional Comments (CC). It basically avoids the problem when you're in IE8 and you set it to compatibility mode.

Jw

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:02 pm
by Klementz
If the site works in IE8 *after* you click the "compatibility mode" icon (it looks like a page ripped in half, and appears to the right of the address bar), then you can just force your template to automatically put IE8 into compatibility mode:

Put this line in the head section of the template's index.php file:

Code: Select all

 
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7"/> 
More details here:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc817570.aspx

Can anyone point me to a post that explains why this issue even exists? What does IE8 have that Firefox, Chrome, etc. does not? Are they writing new "standards" in Redmond again?

I am working on a site that uses Rocket Theme's Afterburner template, and the template won't even load in Internet Explorer 8 without going into this so-called compatibility mode.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:02 am
by kevinwfs333
Hi,
Everyone's saying "removing GTE from index.php" works.

I'm using keepitsimple template but I can't find the line where I can remove the "gte" in the index.php file.

Similarly, I can't find the line under index.php of joomla directory.

Any suggestions?

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:28 am
by thefugitive
I am using the chi design template for my site and i just happened to look at it with IE8 and found it is not working either.. Even with the compatibility option on it still only shows half the site.. =/ check it out here www.venturesport.net

Any idea how to sort this problem out?! I really don't want to have a plain ol html site..

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:24 pm
by shibu
Hi,

I have solved by using this plugin.
Link : http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... 23/details.

And also we can use following code to fix the IE8 issue.
This tag needs to be first in the <head> (before any css):

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=7" />

Please try.

Thanks and regards

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 9:22 am
by thefugitive
Hi

Thanks for getting back to me.. i have installed the plugin but still the same.. Can't get the rest of the home page to show?!

With regards to that other bit of code, exactly where do i need to put it?! I have put it in to every index.html file i have found as well as the index.php file in the template directly but its still not displaying the full home page.. :(

Please can i get some help in getting this sorted out.. Its really driving me crazy now.. =/

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 10:46 am
by thefugitive
Can anyone help out?! :(

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:03 pm
by Klementz
thefugitive wrote:Can anyone help out?! :(
Sorry, not I. Wish I could. I looked at the source code for the site you linked above, and it may provide a clue:

What is all that code starting at line 106? It starts like this:

Code: Select all

<p><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:TrackMoves /> <w:TrackFormatting /> <w:PunctuationKerning /> <w:ValidateAgainstSchemas /> <w:SaveIfXMLInvalid>false</w:SaveIfXMLInvalid> <w:IgnoreMixedContent>false</w:IgnoreMixedContent> ... etc. etc. etc.
You will notice that it is at this point your page stops rendering in IE8. I think the problem lies right there.

Re: Joomla IE8 problem

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:33 pm
by thefugitive
Klementz...... you rock!!! I disabled the two news articles that were on the home page and now the full home page is showing?!?!?! Must be a corruption or something?! ??? Will have to recreate those two articles and hopefully it will work!!

Thanks for your help! Right, time to get cracking on the site again!! :)