User registration - after approval?

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Alzibiff
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

User registration - after approval?

Post by Alzibiff » Thu Apr 17, 2008 7:39 am

Hello,
I have been learning Joomla 1.52 for around three weeks now and am getting ready to "go live" with my site. This will be a Cricket Club site whose content is generally available to all but with some pages restricted to those who have registered.

I have disabled the function which will allow users to self-register as I want to make sure that only club members can see the restricted pages. I would like users to complete a registration form, by submitting their name, username and EMail address but not be given immediate access to the restricted pages - I would match names against our membership list and then set them up in the backend - and then EMail them their password.

So... how to do this? I guess that I cannot use the "default user registration" menu item and need to create a custom form with a submit button - submitting details to the EMail address carried in the Joomla config file.

I am sure that this is a common requirement but cannot find anything in this vast forum or in the two Joomla 1.5 books which I have been working with - I have done plenty of searching believe me - this isn't a "lazy" post by any means.

Hope you can help.
Alan

NickWilson
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: User registration - after approval?

Post by NickWilson » Thu Apr 17, 2008 10:08 am

There are a number of tools that can help you achieve this as far as I know. The most common one that I've come across is an 'extension' called Community Builder.