my 1.5.3 sites refuse to install any extensions

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ilox
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

my 1.5.3 sites refuse to install any extensions

Post by ilox » Thu May 22, 2008 11:54 am

I don't get this. I have set up the sites on my VPS. Had no problems with any of the installations. As soon as I try to install any extension, doesn't matter what, it fails.
I have tried installation from a Directory. Fails.
Tried installing different products, all fail.

Tried searching for this problem, I have been here for long enough to know that Searching is the first step to resolving the problem. Found lots and lots of reports, a few even had been answered with suggested fixes, nothing that gave me any workable answer. Some say set the FTP up in the Global Config. I did. Still Failures. Some say remove the FTP, you don't need it. I did. Failures.

The VPS is running on a Centos system and managed through CPanel WHM. All have been brought up to date.
WHM 11.23.0 cPanel 11.23.1-C24255
CENTOS Enterprise 4.6 i686 on xen - WHM X v3.1.0

Each site has an upload of Joomla 1.5.3 running in the public_html/cms/ folder. Redirection is through a Rewrite command in .htaccess.

Oh yes, the error messages. Sometimes I get specific messages but most times it is this one when uploading a zippped extension:
* Warning! - Failed to move file

Installing from a directory such as /public_html/cms/tmp/com_mtwmigrator
gives this message: Please enter a package directory

What other settings do you want to know to help me track down this extremely frustrating problem?
Last edited by ilox on Mon May 26, 2008 6:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cheers, Ian